Excerpt from The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Infinite Moment of Us

by Lauren Myracle

The Infinite Moment of Us
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Wren gently lifted his hand, turning it this way and that.

"I don't think you're going to lose your thumb." She glanced at him. "That was a joke. But you are going to need stitches."

Charlie had expected that. "Will it cost a lot?"

"Not if your dad—" She broke off, and Charlie could see the wheels turning in her head: how he'd called Chris "Chris," how he'd referred to his "birth mom." "Is the man who brought you in your dad?"

"Foster dad," Charlie said evenly.

"He doesn't have insurance?"

Charlie hesitated. "He makes cabinets. He owns his own shop. He has a workers' comp plan, but the insurance people aren't fans of power tools."

"Because in an accident, the power tools always win," ?Wren said. "And accident reports make the premium go up. Got it."

Actually, the problem was the high co-pays, but close enough. Charlie was surprised that she understood, but then he thought of the overcrowded emergency room and the cockroach on the floor.

Wren stood. "Stay here, okay?"

He tensed, because maybe he'd guessed wrong and she didn't understand. Maybe there were rules she knew about that he didn't. "What for?"

"So that I can . . . so I . . ." She looked at him. "Nothing bad's going to happen. But don't leave, because you do need stitches, or your thumb won't heal right. And you need that thumb, I assume? To keep making furniture or cabinets or whatever?"

He gave a terse nod.

She took the top sheet of paper out of the clipboard and folded it in half, then in half again. She put the clipboard on her seat. "Do you promise you'll stay?"

"I promise."

"Do you mean it?" she pressed.

He replied in his lowest, most serious voice: "I don't make promises I don't mean."

Twin spots of color rose on her cheeks, and, as was so often the case, Charlie had no idea what wrong or unusual thing he'd said this time.

She pulled herself together. "Um, good. Just stay here—I'll be right back."

She walked quickly toward what appeared to be a staff break room. When she returned, she carried a battered first aid kit. The first thing she did was very carefully clean his wound, and he winced at the sting of the antiseptic.

"Oh, I'm sorry!" she cried.

"No, please," Charlie said, chagrined that he'd made her doubt herself.

"Are you sure?"

"I'm sure."

She bit her lip.

"I'm sure," he repeated. "And thank you. Really."

Wren proceeded to stitch up Charlie's thumb herself. She cradled his hand in her lap and smoothed on a numbing cream first, and her touch was so gentle that Charlie knew he would gladly suffer a dozen injuries—a thousand—in exchange for this: the feel of her fingers on his, the tug of the thread, the slight pinch of the needle, the intoxicating scent of her as she leaned in close.

"Katya taught me," she told him. She pressed her knees together as she concentrated. When she shifted, the hem of her skirt rode up, revealing a finger's width of her skin. He wanted very much to look down her shirt, too, but he told himself not to. He almost succeeded.

"I think I know Katya," he said. "Russian? Wants to be a pediatrician?"

She glanced at him, baffled. "Yeah, that's her. But how do you know her?"

"I've met a lot of a nurses, that's all."

Now her expression was doubly baffled, and he felt like a fool. I've met a lot of nurses, as if he were bragging, as if he were some sort of player.

Speak, he told himself. Explain. Now.

"I've been here a lot, that's all. The pediatrics ward. That's how I know Katya."

"Why were you in pediatrics a lot?"

God, why had he brought this up? The last thing Charlie wanted was for Wren to be concerned about him. To see him as a charity case, or a charity case by proxy.

Excerpted from The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle. Copyright © 2013 by Lauren Myracle. Excerpted by permission of Amulet Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Gun Safety Etiquette

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.