Gun Safety Etiquette: Background information when reading The Infinite Moment of Us

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Infinite Moment of Us

by Lauren Myracle

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Gun Safety Etiquette

Print Review

One of the early scenes in The Infinite Moment of Us, has Wren visiting a shooting range with her best friend Tessa, and P.G., Tessa's new boyfriend. Although Wren doesn't like guns; she "hated their ugliness, and she hated what they did," she has a good time and finds the experience surprisingly thrilling and exciting. This unexpected reaction is part of her developing independence and self-awareness. The understanding of guns and their potential adds to the intensity of the climactic action scene.

Indoor Shooting Range P.G. is experienced with firearms and takes care to ensure the girls' safety, but he doesn't insist they take a recommended basic safety class prior to shooting. Seeing the allure and intrigue wrapped up in this experiment, teens—or other first-time shooters—should be aware of gun safety guidelines as well as shooting range etiquette. It is worth adding that these rules are equally applicable wherever guns are handled, both in the range and outside of it.

In order to participate in shooting at a gun range, an individual needs to wear safety glasses and ear protectors—wearing both ear plugs and ear muffs is recommended. In addition, familiarity with the specifics of the weapon is a crucial requirement.

Once on the range, a shooter needs to follow these basic safety rules:

  1. Never point the gun at anything you don't intend to shoot. Keep the muzzle pointed downrange (meaning toward target) at all times.
  2. Keep finger off the trigger until ready to shoot.
  3. Keep weapon unloaded completely—remove the magazine and check the chamber to ensure no ammunition is in the gun—when not in use.
    • Never leave a loaded gun unattended.
    • Unload any time changing target, shooter, or weapon.
  4. Be aware of surroundings at all times.
    • Never leave equipment in the way of others.
    • Never step over others' equipment, always walk around it.
    • When "cease-fire" is called, immediately take finger off trigger, keep muzzle pointed downrange and wait for instructions.
  5. Be polite and courteous to other participants. Never touch anyone else's weapon or other equipment without permission.

In addition, here is a video demonstrating these rules and what to expect at a shooting range:



Picture of woman at indoor shooting range from Wikipedia.com. Indoor Shooting Range at Sarasota, FL. Taken by Kenn.

Article by Sarah Tomp

This article was originally published in October 2013, and has been updated for the August 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.