Gun Safety Etiquette: Background information when reading The Infinite Moment of Us

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Infinite Moment of Us

by Lauren Myracle

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle X
The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2014, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Gun Safety Etiquette

Print Review

One of the early scenes in The Infinite Moment of Us, has Wren visiting a shooting range with her best friend Tessa, and P.G., Tessa's new boyfriend. Although Wren doesn't like guns; she "hated their ugliness, and she hated what they did," she has a good time and finds the experience surprisingly thrilling and exciting. This unexpected reaction is part of her developing independence and self-awareness. The understanding of guns and their potential adds to the intensity of the climactic action scene.

Indoor Shooting Range P.G. is experienced with firearms and takes care to ensure the girls' safety, but he doesn't insist they take a recommended basic safety class prior to shooting. Seeing the allure and intrigue wrapped up in this experiment, teens—or other first-time shooters—should be aware of gun safety guidelines as well as shooting range etiquette. It is worth adding that these rules are equally applicable wherever guns are handled, both in the range and outside of it.

In order to participate in shooting at a gun range, an individual needs to wear safety glasses and ear protectors—wearing both ear plugs and ear muffs is recommended. In addition, familiarity with the specifics of the weapon is a crucial requirement.

Once on the range, a shooter needs to follow these basic safety rules:

  1. Never point the gun at anything you don't intend to shoot. Keep the muzzle pointed downrange (meaning toward target) at all times.
  2. Keep finger off the trigger until ready to shoot.
  3. Keep weapon unloaded completely—remove the magazine and check the chamber to ensure no ammunition is in the gun—when not in use.
    • Never leave a loaded gun unattended.
    • Unload any time changing target, shooter, or weapon.
  4. Be aware of surroundings at all times.
    • Never leave equipment in the way of others.
    • Never step over others' equipment, always walk around it.
    • When "cease-fire" is called, immediately take finger off trigger, keep muzzle pointed downrange and wait for instructions.
  5. Be polite and courteous to other participants. Never touch anyone else's weapon or other equipment without permission.

In addition, here is a video demonstrating these rules and what to expect at a shooting range:



Picture of woman at indoor shooting range from Wikipedia.com. Indoor Shooting Range at Sarasota, FL. Taken by Kenn.

Article by Sarah Tomp

This article was originally published in October 2013, and has been updated for the August 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.