Excerpt from What the River Washed Away by Muriel Mharie Macleod, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

What the River Washed Away

by Muriel Mharie Macleod

What the River Washed Away
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2013, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2013, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


One thing my Mambo can do for sure is look after out back. Once when he got mad at her, Pappy said the way she was acting would make folks think she ain't good for nothing at all. But then he said he was sorry for talking like that. She said he oughta pay it no mind. He said he was glad she was good out back and always been a fine help about the place, and he was right proud of it too. Pappy and Mambo just fight all the time.

I used to go with him for chopping thin branches out back of our cabin. He said he needed a hundred and I gotta learn my counting, so he'd be sure on getting enough. We stepped out and got ten each time, so I learnt easy. Then I had to count how many he trimmed up, and how many he whittled down for sticking in the ground. That's how we got a fence out front of our cabin, like nobody else, 'cause Pappy was busy teaching me my numbers. He always said he was gonna put that fence all round his land and I'd learn half a thousand, but he got old. Grandma and Mambo just laughed.

'What land? Ain't ya land, we just dammit lucky ain't nobody come on over here throwing us o!. Ain't nobody round here own nothing. Ya just nothing but an old fool.'

Once he was gone, Mambo grabbed his stack of old newspapers and started covering up the walls of our cabin. Mixed a paste of flour and water and set about sticking them all over. Pappy always got a hold of old newspapers for learning me my letters and teaching me my reading. We were always reading news when it ain't news any more, and I know every story on them walls near enough word for word. 'Don't go pasting them up any old how Mambo. Put this here, 'longside of this. See? Them's the same story, so put them pages together, so's folks can read all about it.'

'Lord, girl. If ya head ain't just full of what nobody care nothing about. Ain't nobody coming over here reading them walls. Folks coming over here don't read nothing.'

'But they's oughta Mambo, and they's oughta learn anyways. I can teach them Mambo, just like Pappy teach me. Ain't hard Mambo. Look, they's talking about the fire down in New Orleans here, and here, so put them right next to one another so everybody can read what happened to folks and how they all get hurt, and all them houses, how they burned down, and how they's gonna raise them up again. Over here Mambo, look. Look at it, that's a real story, it really happened to folks. It did.'

'Stop with the talking. Just once, stop with the damn talking.' 'And this here's about all them trees they's gonna take from round here, Mambo. They's gonna do it, take them for the railway line and for one of them mills, 'cause cottonseed got oil, that's what they say. Listen, this one says – it's from Mansfield, that's over Desoto parish way—'

Thwack.

She wants to be throwing out his magazines, too, but I screamed every word I ever heard him call her. 'Whore, daughter a Babylon, voodoo queen just like ya ma, slattern,' and I don't know what else, till she dropped them magazines right in the middle of our cabin floor and thwacked me plenty. Then she washed my mouth out with the carbolic. I got to keep my magazines though. Seems she's so upset with my mouth she forgot what she was thwacking me for, I guess. Pappy was always telling me to get all the reading I can, 'cause when he was young, coloureds ain't ever get any reading at all, they ain't never allowed that. I keep all them magazines under my cot now and study them over and over again. I've read them a hundred times. I touch them just the way Pappy said, with a gentle care, so no page gets torn, 'cause the way I see it, that's the only reading I'm ever gonna get now he's gone. Except maybe the paper coming wrapped round crawfish somebody give us 'cause a mambo don't always take dimes. I read them too, so I know what's going on, even though Mambo ain't ever take me anywhere. She's too busy having herself a good time.

Excerpted from What the River Washed Away by Muriel Mharie Macleod. Copyright © 2013 by Muriel Mharie Macleod. Excerpted by permission of One World. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Marksville, Louisiana

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.