Excerpt from Good Kings Bad Kings by Susan Nussbaum, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Good Kings Bad Kings

by Susan Nussbaum

Good Kings Bad Kings
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Bob Sauerbrey

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


So I read it off for Mia and she asked Bernard to push her over to sit next to me. She took up my hand and held it real tight.

A guy in a car stopped and asked were we selling lemonade. Can you believe that shit? They see a group of teenage people standing together any- where else they'd be arrested for being gangbangers. They see a bunch of disable people and think we're selling lemonade. Where is the respect?

I yelled, "Can't you read?" and he drove away.

Pretty soon more people from ILLC came back from the funeral and Dominique and Chris and Jose all said they was gonna stand there with us but they had to first go to the bathroom. That was the last we seen of them.

When Ricky came back from Joanne's office, he had Joanne, and she almost fell out her chair when she saw my sign and she hugged everybody in our line and then she started calling all over the place on her cell phone. She called the place where Teddy's lawyer is, and she called some other places, and Ricky went to pick up the kids getting out from school at Hoover and to get us some food. I told Joanne to call Jimmie, and Joanne said Jimmie knows we're out here but she can't come be with us because she might get fired. I says, "Ain't you worried about you getting fired?" And she kinda shrugs and just shakes her head no. I says, "And after you done calling Jimmie can you take my picture on your cell phone? I want a picture of me wearing this top all chained to my tree."

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from Good Kings Bad Kings by Susan Nussbaum. Copyright © 2013 by Susan Nussbaum. Excerpted by permission of Algonquin Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Fiction as Social Catalyst

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.