Excerpt from Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ordinary Grace

by William Kent Krueger

Ordinary Grace
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2013, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Yes."

"Nice kid, right? But slow."

"Slow enough he couldn't get out of the way of that train," Engdahl said.

"Shut up, Engdahl." Doyle looked back at me. "You play on the tracks?"

"No," I lied.

He looked at Jake. "You?"

"No," I answered for Jake.

"Good thing. Because there are bums down there. Men not like the decent folks in New Bremen. You ever get approached by one of them men you come straight here and tell me. Ask for Officer Doyle."

"You think that's what happened to Bobby?" I was thunderstruck.

It would never have occurred to me that his death wasn't an accident. But then I wasn't a trained policeman like Officer Doyle. He began popping the knuckles of his fingers one by one. "I'm just saying you watch out for guys drifting along those tracks. Understand?" "Yes, sir."

"Goblins'll get you if you don't watch out," Engdahl said. "They love tender meat like you and Retard."

Doyle stood up. He walked to the cell and motioned Morris Engdahl to come to the bars. Engdahl drew his whole self onto the bench and pressed to the wall.

"That's what I thought," Doyle said.

The metal door opened and Officer Blake came out. My father followed. He supported Gus who was stumbling. Gus seemed drunker than Engdahl but there wasn't a mark on him.

"You're really letting him go?" Engdahl said. "That's friggin' unfair."

"I called your father," the officer said. "He told me a night in jail would do you good. Take it up with him."

"Get the door, Frank," my father said and then looked at the officer.

"Thank you, Cleve. I appreciate this."

"Keeps things around here simpler. But, Gus, you've got to watch yourself. The chief 's at the end of his rope with you."

Gus grinned drunkenly. "He wantsa talk to me, tell him I'll be happy to discuss it over a beer."

I held the door and my father hauled Gus out. I looked back where Morris Engdahl sat on the hard bench. Now, forty years later, I realize that what I saw was a kid not all that much older than me. Thin and angry and blind and lost and shut up behind iron bars not for the first time or the last. I probably should have felt for him something other than I did which was hatred. I closed the door.

At the car Gus straightened up suddenly and turned to my father.

"Thanks, Captain."

"Get in the car."

Gus said, "What about my motorcycle?"

"Where is it?"

"At Rosie's."

"You can get it tomorrow when you're sober. Get in the car."

Gus swayed a little. He looked up at the moon. His face was bloodless in the pale light. "Why does he do it, Captain?"

"Who?"

"God. Why does he take the sweet ones?"

"He takes us all in the end, Gus."

"But a kid?"

"Is that what the fight was about? Bobby Cole?"

"Engdahl called him a retard, Captain. Said he was better off dead. I couldn't let it pass." Gus shook his head in a bewildered way. "So how come, Captain?"

"I don't know, Gus."

"Isn't that your job? Knowing the why of all this crap?" Gus seemed disappointed. Then he said, "Dead. What's that mean?"

Excerpted from Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger. Copyright © 2013 by William Kent Krueger. Excerpted by permission of Atria Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Year, 1961

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.