Excerpt from Oxford Messed Up by Andrea Kayne Kaufman, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Oxford Messed Up

by Andrea Kayne Kaufman

Oxford Messed Up by Andrea Kayne Kaufman X
Oxford Messed Up by Andrea Kayne Kaufman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Nov 2011, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


As if bracing himself for another refusal, he cautiously asked, "Is it okay if I join you, Loomate?"

"Yes, I'd love to hang out with you, but the name is Gloria. Have a problem with that, Mr. Young? It is a classic Van Morrison song that he sang with his band Them. You must know it since you're the expert on all things Van Morrison."

Henry responded to her teasing with the first few lines of Van Morrison's classic.

Did I tell you about my baby?
Well, she comes around.
Five feet four
From her head to the ground.
Comes around here
Just about midnight.
Makes me feel so good.
Makes me feel alright.
And her name is G-L-O-R-I-A

And together they sat at the table moving through some of the most famous covers of "Gloria" by Patti Smith, David Bowie, Jimi Hendrix, Bruce Springsteen, R.E.M., and Energy Orchard. They even dwelled on U2's "Gloria," though technically not a Morrison cover, along with Green Day's "Viva La Gloria."

Interestingly, one famous (or perhaps infamous) version, which they did not bring up, was by the Doors, as was written all over Henry's bloody Doors shirt. Henry thought the Doors' "Gloria" was much too steamy for this first foray.

But Gloria was on to his thoughts. She may have been a bit odd, but she was not ignorant, especially when it came to Van Morrison's music. She was staring at Henry's shirt with a naughty grin; of course, she knew the Doors' version of "Gloria."

But he refused to bring it up, giving her his own suspicious grin in return. He refused to say a word. He was grateful she was sitting at the same bloody table with him; he was not about to scare her away now. Their staring contest lasted a long and tense moment, after which they both burst out laughing, practically singing in unison the Doors' notorious version of "Gloria."

Check me into your room.
Show me your thing.
Why'd you do it baby?
Why'd you show me your thing?
Can't stop now. Can't back out.

Slow it down, gonna feel it down.
Alright, OK, alright, hey-hey.
Getting softer - slow it down.
Now you show me your thing.

Now why don't you wrap your lips around my cock, baby?
Wrap your legs around my neck,
Wrap your arms around my feet,
Wrap your hair around my skin.

So, much to his astonishment, Henry found himself singing Jim Morrison's sexually provocative - some might say perverted, even pedophilic - definitely orgasmic version of "Gloria" with his American germophobic loomate who was scared to death of having tea with him or even entering his room. It made no sense. It was absurd. Arbitrary. Inconsistent. Random.

But Henry quickly learned that nothing with Gloria was random. Greenwich Mean Time personified, she adhered to a rigid and orderly schedule, her life and whereabouts always perfectly predictable. Before long it was second nature for him to predict where in Oxford she would be at any given moment on any given day.

He knew her bloody schedule better than his own. He didn't have a schedule. Fuck, before he started hanging out with Gloria, he couldn't find his bloody watch. The only predictable moments in his week were when he was stalking her, orchestrating opportunities to "accidentally" cross her path, or running late to his own stupid classes.

He found that if he worked around her strange requirements, she would gladly spend time with him. She seemed to want to spend time with him. As long as it did not involve off-campus food or much advanced planning, Gloria would most always say yes whenever Henry happened upon her. And he made sure he happened upon her as often as possible.

And when she said yes, despite her rigid manner, they would talk easily and freely about so many things - rock lyrics, writers and poets, and difficulties with their families. They covered all sorts of subjects, from the existential to the mundane. And they always ended up laughing about the most bizarre and stupid things. Henry liked making her laugh. They were bluesy souls who both, at bottom, were in need of a good laugh.

Excerpted from Oxford Messed Up by Andrea Kayne Kaufman. Copyright © 2011 by Andrea Kayne Kaufman. Excerpted by permission of Grant Place Press. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Van Morrison

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.