Excerpt from The Sadness of the Samurai by Victor del Arbol, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sadness of the Samurai

A Novel

by Victor del Arbol

The Sadness of the Samurai by Victor del Arbol
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    May 2012, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


He had done what he had to do, but that didn't mollify the contempt he was now feeling for himself.

"You should have distanced yourself from those schemers when you had the chance, Isabel."

"You only have me. When I knew who you really were, I warned the others. You and your boss won't be able to reach them."

The man lit a condescending smile.

"You'll tell me where they are."

"I will not."

"I can assure you that you will, Isabel," predicted the man in a dire voice, and, turning toward Andrés, he added, "That is if you ever want to see your son again."

The boy observed the scene without understanding what was going on. His face was boiling red from the cold.

The rising wind carried on it the music of an incoming train. The train to Lisbon. The gradually lessening noise of the wheels on the rails came through the fog. There was a pause and a whistle, like the deep sigh of a runner stopping after great exertion.

"Let's go, Mamá, it's our train," said Andrés, taking his mother by the hand and pulling. She didn't move or take her eyes off the man.

Then he leaned down beside the boy. On his face was a broad, beneficent smile that struck at Isabel's very soul.

"There's been a change of plans, Andrés. Your mamá has to take a trip, but you are going back home. Your father is waiting for you."

The boy looked at the stranger with confusion, and then his gaze shifted back to his mother, who was looking at him anxiously.

"I don't want to go home. I want to go with my mother."

"That's not going to be possible. But I think your father has a very big surprise for you... a real Japanese katana!"

Like a sudden clearing in the forest, the boy's face lit up. He was struck dumb with astonishment.

"You mean it?"

"Absolutely," assured the man. "I wouldn't dare lie to a samurai."

Andrés's face filled with pride.

They walked toward the car at the station's entrance. Andrés sank his feet into the snow, leaping in a race to get home before anyone else, shouting with joy. Isabel's feet dragged, followed closely by the man, who kept his eyes glued on her.

"What is going to happen to my son?" she asked him suddenly, before getting into the car.

"He will be a happy boy who'll grow up remembering how lovely his mother was... or a poor lunatic locked up for life in a miserable insane asylum. It depends on you."

The car left the station with a slow, jagged murmur beneath a sky wrapped in cellophane. In the backseat Isabel held Andrés tightly, as if she wanted to stick him back inside her to protect him. But the boy pushed away her embrace with a selfish gesture, asking that man to drive faster... faster. He was finally going to have a real samurai katana of his very own.

Copyright © 2011 by Víctor del Árbol. Translation Copyright © 2012 by Mara Faye Lethem

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Our wisdom comes from our experience, and our experience comes from our foolishness

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.