Struggle for Democracy in Post-Franco Spain: Background information when reading The Sadness of the Samurai

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sadness of the Samurai

A Novel

by Victor del Arbol

The Sadness of the Samurai by Victor del Arbol
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    May 2012, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Struggle for Democracy in Post-Franco Spain

Print Review

Victor del Árbol's The Sadness of the Samurai begins in pro-Nazi Spain and takes place over three generations - the perfect political backdrop for the violence, betrayal, mystery and murder that takes place in the novel. Every nation struggles with its own demons, and 20th century Spain was no exception - experiencing civil war, dictatorial leaders, worker unrest, nascent democracy, and in 1981, a coup d'état that threatened to topple the newly formed democratic government.

After ruling Spain for nearly four decades, dictator Francisco Franco died in 1975. His appointed heir, Prince Juan Carlos de Borbón took over as King and lost little time restructuring Spain's government into a constitutional monarchy with a democratically elected congress, called the Cortes. He promised a future of freely contested elections, but it quickly proved to be a promise he would not be able to fulfill, especially if elements of the country's right wing had anything to say about it.

Accompanying any drastic political rearrangement there will be inevitable dissenters. Among the most influential in late 1970s Spain was former Lieutenant Colonel Antonio Tejero Molina who, although no longer in the military, still held sway with scores of military and para-military who opposed the new order. Together with Lieutenant General Jaime Milans del Bosch y Ussía, he and others plotted to overthrow the democratically elected Cortes and appoint new leadership under a Franco-like military dictatorship.

In a dramatic show of force on February 23, 1981 Tejero lead 200 heavily armed men as they stormed the Cortes, firing automatic weapons into the air and taking the 350 ministers prisoner. They ordered those present to lie down and closed surrounding streets. The rebels also commandeered national radio and television stations and Bosch began broadcasting orders, declaring a state of emergency, ordering tanks into the streets and throwing citizens into a worried panic.

The coup was short lived however. The following day King Juan Carlos appeared on national television reassuring the public that the perpetrators had been apprehended and order restored. It is generally accepted that since he had the support of all three of Spain's military branches in addition to the favor he had garnered as Franco's personal appointee, Juan Carlos was able to quickly quash the rebellion.

Although the narration is in Spanish, you can click on the video below to watch Lieutenant Colonel Antonio Tejero Molina storm the congressional meeting in 1981.

Article by Donna Chavez

This article is from the May 30, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.