Excerpt from Enchanted by Alethea Kontis, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Enchanted

by Alethea Kontis

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis X
Enchanted by Alethea Kontis
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2012, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"And you took the gold?"

"I did indeed. Three solid pieces of bright gold, they were. I put them in my pocket." He patted his hip. "Then I cut the leprechaun free. And do you know what he did?"

"What?"

"He complained! Cheeky little bugger. Said I had made a wreck of his charming beard and that it would never grow back the same! I pointed out that I was a woodsman, not a barber. The vain imp! Should have been grateful just to be alive!" Sunday giggled helplessly at the thought of burly Papa as a hairdresser. "He would have none of it. Told me that since I had ruined his good looks I didn't deserve any of his gold. He wiggled his nose and vanished right there in front of my eyes."

"But you still had the three gold pieces?"

"I did indeed, so I don't feel cheated in the slightest. I brought them home for you." Sunday's heart leapt for joy as he reached into his pocket. Whatever treasure Papa had brought would certainly go to the family, but it meant the world that he made a show of giving it to her. Mama acted as if she weren't paying any attention, but she had stopped cutting the bread mid-slice.

"I'm afraid they're a little worse for the wear." Papa opened his hand and dropped the contents onto the table.

"Bah!" Mama scoffed when she saw. "Fool's gold and fairy stones. Such has been this family's lot in life. I should have known."

Sunday's treasure was three small stones. One was smooth and deep ocean blue run with lines of stark white, one was splotchy green like moss trapped in pale amber, and one was sharp-edged and milky pink. Fool's gold or not, these stones were hers to keep, a thousand times more valuable to her than any gold ever could be. Inside these stones Papa's story would live forever; Sunday would remember the tale every time she saw them. It was just as she'd hoped: the perfect end to a perfect day.

"They're beautiful," Sunday said over the shiny stones.

"They're yours if you want them."

Sunday threw herself into Papa's arms and hugged him again.

Mama set the platter of bread firmly on the table beside them. "Enough nonsense now. Sunday, mind the stew. Jack, bank the fire and call your children. It's time for supper."

Excerpted from Enchanted by Alethea Kontis. Copyright © 2012 by Alethea Kontis. Excerpted by permission of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Andrew Lang's Fairy Books

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.