Excerpt from The Technologists by Matthew Pearl, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Technologists

A Novel

by Matthew Pearl

The Technologists
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2012, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2012, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Just my luck," Bob said. "Faster, fellows! Go! Come on, Mansfield, faster! Well rowed, Hoyt! All clear, come on!"

A forty-nine-foot shell had shot out of the trees sheltering a narrow adjoining channel with the speed of a lightning bolt. Six flashing oars creased the surface of the river in synchronized strokes, throwing off white streaks behind them. The rowers were bare from the waist up, with crimson handkerchiefs wrapped around their heads, and their flexing muscles glistened in the strengthening sun. As Marcus peered back at them, they looked like highly educable pirates, and he knew it would be a lost cause to attempt to elude whatever this boat was.

"Who are they?" he marveled.

"Blaikie," Bob explained as the three of them pulled as hard as they could. "His is the best Harvard six there ever was, they say. Will Blaikie - he's the stroke oar. I'd rather stare into the mouth of the serpent."

Edwin wheezed between strokes, "Blaikie... was... at Exeter... with Bob and me."

The other vessel came on with a spurt too powerful to shake, now just a length behind.

"Plymouth!" cried the lantern-jawed lead rower on the lightning bolt. The boat went by theirs and then reversed and ranged alongside of them.

"Why, it is you, Plymouth!" said the stroke oar, Blaikie, to Bob with a gleaming smile. Even seated in his shell, he presented the particular mincing swagger of a Harvard senior. "It's been ages. You're not forming a randan team, are you?"

"We've been borrowing a shell from the boat club," said Bob, motioning for his friends to stop rowing. Marcus could not remember seeing his classmate so deflated.

"Don't tell me you're still dragging your heels over at that embryo of a college, Plymouth?" Blaikie asked.

"We are seniors now, like you."

"Tant pis pour vous," interjected one of the Harvard boys, eliciting chuckles from the others.

"I fear civilizing your classmates into respectable gentlemen will take more than teaching them to grip an oar," Blaikie went on cheerfully. "Science cannot substitute for culture, old salt. I used to agonize, Plymouth, what I would most rather be, stroke of the Harvard, president of the Christian Brethren, or First Scholar of the class. Now I know what it is to be all three." He was reminded by one of his oarsmen not to forget president of one of the best college societies. "Yes, Smithy! But it is best not to speak of the societies to outsiders."

"We are doing things far more important - things you wouldn't begin to understand, Blaikie."

"Just how many of you Technology boys are there?"

Throwing out his chest, Bob answered, "Fifteen men in the Class of '68. About thirty-five in the other three classes, and we expect more than ever in the next freshman group."

Excerpted from The Technologists by Matthew Pearl. Copyright © 2012 by Matthew Pearl. Excerpted by permission of Random House, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Steampunk Aesthetic

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.