BookBrowse Reviews The Technologists by Matthew Pearl

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Technologists

A Novel

by Matthew Pearl

The Technologists
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2012, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2012, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

This hard-to-classify novel is set in 19th c. Boston where technology is both an exciting and frightening new concept

The Technologists has me reaching for nineteenth-century circus poster adjectives: stupendous, extraordinary, death-defying! This novel is a pleasure to dive into, although it's difficult to know where to place it on the literary spectrum - not exactly a historical novel and not exactly a fantasy, not quite a thriller (as advertised) nor a crime story. Finally it dawned on me - Matthew Pearl's 1868 Boston comes to us through the idealism of a comic book. The villain is dastardly, and the heroes have hearts of gold. Both sides of good and evil draw on new discoveries in science and innovations in engineering to give themselves what seem like superpowers. A portion of the comic-book quality of Pearl's Boston may come from the past itself, from his research into the real-life idealists who founded and inaugurated the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the 1860s. Part of it, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Steampunk Aesthetic

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.