Excerpt from Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Out of Shadows

by Jason Wallace

Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace X
Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2011, 282 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2011, 282 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


“He could get another job.” I spoke petulantly into my tie knot. “In England. He acts like a stupid history teacher most of the time, he could be one of those.”

“Now, now. Don’t be rude,” my mother told me, but with her face pointing the other way.

She blew her nose.

“This country is our home for the time being,” she went on dutifully. I could tell she was forcing her mouth into a smile. “It’ll be better this time. I believe that, I really do. Back at home your father’s old department just didn’t appreciate his . . . skills, but I think he’ll finally find his feet with this new job. He’s running a whole office. Things will be different.”

“But I don’t really know anything about this country,” I said, a plea as I eyed the small boy over on the grass who now appeared to be looking right at me. “What if they don’t like me?”

She turned around again.

“Then we will go back, one way or another. I promise. It’s where we belong. We can go and live with Granny while we settle back. She says we’re always welcome. She misses us so much since we left.”

Now her smile was real.

“But you have to promise you’ll at least try. If you can do that then I’ll see what I can do. Your father does listen to me sometimes, he does care. Maybe he can put in for a transfer—I’m sure the Civil Service does that sort of thing all the time. Deal?”

I nodded quickly up and down, knowing I could believe her optimism, and my mother leaned into the back to give me a hug. Beyond, my father waved me out with impatience.

“You’re at grown-up school now, Robert. You don’t want the other boys seeing that,” he said as I went to him. Until that point I’d always been Bobby. It seemed Bobby had been left at home and I wished I was there with him.

I lowered my head and pulled on the oversized blue blazer that itched my skin.

“We’ve found you a new friend,” my father went on, pointing to the small black boy. “He’s starting today, too. This is Nelson. Nelson, this is Robert. You two are going to be best friends.”

Nelson’s father smiled and agreed. Nelson himself didn’t move until his father gave him a nudge, and he nodded a silent hello. His eyes cried out that he was in fact having the same kind of day as me, and we laughed anxiously together. It wasn’t a sound we would make many times that first term.

Excerpted from Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace. Copyright © 2011 by Jason Wallace. Excerpted by permission of Holiday House. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.