All About Jason Wallace: Background information when reading Out of Shadows

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Out of Shadows

by Jason Wallace

Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace X
Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2011, 282 pages

    Paperback:
    Dec 2011, 282 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Ellis Smith
Buy This Book

About this Book

All About Jason Wallace

This article relates to Out of Shadows

Print Review

Here is a short story about perseverance: Out of Shadows was rejected by agents and editors one hundred times before Jason Wallace's current publishing house bought it. One hundred times. And it just won the very prestigious Costa Children's Book of the Year Award (formerly the Whitbread Award). Thank goodness Jason didn't give up trying... or give up hope.

Jason Wallace Born in Cheltenham, England in 1969, Jason Wallace is related to J. R. R. Tolkien and is a descendant of one of the first International English cricketers and also of a famous Victorian circus owner named "Lord" George Sanger. Jason lived in south-west London during the early years of his childhood with his mother, but at age 12, when his mother remarried, he emigrated to Zimbabwe. He lived at a boarding school there, which became the foundation of memories he used for his novel, and it is interesting to note that included in those memories is an actual meeting with Robert Mugabe when he visited Jason’s school.

Jason decided to be a writer at age 17, but it took him another couple decades before he got anything published. He, like many dedicated writers, worked at his craft at night, during a free moment on the train, and through his lunch hours. When he finally began to write Out of Shadows, it took him about a year to complete the book and then another six months to revise it. And then... well, there was the long haul to find someone to buy it.

In a radio interview with Alex Bell on SW RadioAfrica, Jason speaks about his lack of understanding of what was truly going on in Zimbabwe while he was a student there. He was aware of undertones of the unrest and violence, but it was not as overt or as dark as he portrays in his book. When he finally realized what was going on around him, he was blown away by shock. And it is this combination - the deep impact this knowledge had on him and his very tangible memories - that finally combined and inspired him to write Out of Shadows.

As for what Jason hopes people will get out of the book? He says he would like people to see that there is good in the world and that there is bad, and we all have choices to make with regards to this. We can pursue either path, but which one will we each choose to follow? Thank goodness Jason Wallace chose to follow his heart and write this book.

For information on recent events in Zimbabwe, check out NPR's audio broadcast entitled "A Journalist Bears Witness to Mugabe's Massacre" (March 30, 2011).

Filed under Books and Authors

This article relates to Out of Shadows. It first ran in the April 20, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...
  • Book Jacket: Mercy Street
    Mercy Street
    by Jennifer Haigh
    Jennifer Haigh's Mercy Street centers around a Boston clinic that provides abortion services. The ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Carolina Moonset
by Matt Goldman
An engrossing novel about family, memories and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.