Excerpt from Madame Tussaud by Michelle Moran, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Madame Tussaud

A Novel of the French Revolution

by Michelle Moran

Madame Tussaud
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2011, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

 
"Think of it," I say eagerly. "I could arrange a special tableau for her visit. An image of the queen sitting in her dressing room. With you by her side. The Queen and Her Minister of Fashion," I tell her.
 
Rose's lips twitch upward. Although Minister of Fashion is an insult the papers use to criticize her influence over Marie Antoinette, it's not far from the truth, and she knows this. She hesitates. It is one thing to have your name in the papers, but to be immortalized in wax... That is something reserved only for royals and criminals, and she is neither.
 
"So what would you have me say?" she asks slowly.
 
My heart beats quickly. Even if the queen dislikes what I've done - and she won't, I know she won't, not when I've taken such pains to get the blue of her eyes just right - the fact that she has personally come to see her wax model will change everything. Our exhibition will be included in the finest guidebooks to Paris. We'll earn a place in every Catalog of Amusements printed in France. But most important, we'll be associated with Marie Antoinette. Even after all of the scandals that have attached themselves to her name, there is only good business to be had by entertaining Their Majesties.
 
"Just tell her that you've been to the Salon de Cire. You have, haven't you?"
 
"Of course." Rose Bertin is not a woman to miss anything. Even a wax show on the Boulevard du Temple. "It was attractive." She adds belatedly, "In its way."
 
"So tell that to the queen. Tell her I've modeled the busts of Voltaire, Rousseau, Benjamin Franklin. Tell her there will be several of her. And you."
 
Rose is silent. Then finally, she says, "I'll see what I can do."

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from Madame Tussaud by Michelle Moran. Copyright © 2011 by Michelle Moran. Excerpted by permission of Crown, a division of Random House, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Madame Tussauds Wax Museum

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.