Excerpt from The Geometry of God by Uzma Aslam Khan, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Geometry of God

by Uzma Aslam Khan

The Geometry of God by Uzma Aslam Khan X
The Geometry of God by Uzma Aslam Khan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 386 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Amal


Love makes me lazy, as if I always have a full stomach. Our foreplay—or bo’s-o-kanar, as Omar lovingly calls it, shedding his manly Punjabi pride to ladylike Urdu—is lavish and fat. Pretending to be at our own private court, we massage each other like Mughals. (The King’s Hammam, now in ruins, is just around the corner.) The oil has a rich, woody scent. I take my time around his neck, watching those clitoral nipples stiffen. Even stroking the soles of his feet won’t get such joyous results. He giggles and protests and feeds me falsa berries, strawberries, lychees. I learn to taste. Item by item, the way I watched Mehwish’s baby spit flower under a lens. (If the wonder of our childhood has helped make me a more attentive lover, Mehwish will love well. I learn to taste and so will she.) […]

“My religious vocabulary’s Urdu–Arabic, social vocabulary Urdu–English, but sexual vocabulary only English, while yours—”

Ouch. Do it again.” I stop. In a flash, he rolls me onto my back. “Stop thinking.”

Between laughing and hurting, I struggle to remember what I was thinking, “You’ve only looked at yourself—”

“I prefer to only look at you,” he mumbles.

“I mean, you’ve only looked at both of us, sexually, in Urdu or Punjabi. Isn’t it?”

He sighs. “Maybe English is like your endless questions. It helps you hide your jinsi bhook. Do you even know what that is?” […]

I can’t. My mother tongue is as chaste as my mother.

He nods. “Urdu isn’t as proper as you Urdu wallahs think. You leave out all the good words, forgetting the language comes from those who loved to love. There’s a specific word for female sexual desire. Did you know that?”

“What is it?”

“Find out.” […]

He opens my mouth and starts naming me.

The words are hotter than the oil down my back, sweeter than the saliva on his tongue. They belong to me. They loosen me. Geography first exists in the mind. My names give me shape. (“What’s this? This? Do you finally understand jinsi bhook?”)

 

Noman


My father stands up, takes off his shoes, steps into the gateway of the Badshahi Masjid. I’ve already prayed. Now I have homework to do. Algebra. I remember my teacher saying, “Did you know your Al Gorithms are named after the man who made them up, Al Khwarizmi? Or that civilization depends on the sifr, what you English-speakers call the cipher, what you should call the magic zero?”

No, I didn’t know.



I sit in the park, watching Aba disappear inside the mosque. He’s changed. We haven’t gone out together for months, not to feed the pigeons in the courtyard of Wazir Khan Masjid, or lick our fingers at the fish shops in Mozang Chungi, or welcome the Sikh pilgrims who come from India every year to visit the gurdwara next to these gardens. We used to do these things.

In my copy book, I save the vision of someone long ago: 10, 100, 1000.

My heart isn’t in it. I sip ice cream soda with a straw.

An odd thing happens.

The three pearly domes of the mosque start floating toward me. Three giant sifrs with the smaller sifrs of my sums swirling inside each like flies in a stomach. The giant ones burst, releasing the small. Tiny zeroes dance between the pages of my book, dive down the straw in the green soda bottle, one after another, till finally, they all burst.

A number is made up. It doesn’t exist.

I look at the marble domes inside which Aba prays. Designed with numbers that burst, with made-up lines and made-up sifrs.

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from The Geometry of God by Uzma Khan. Copyright © 2009 by Uzma Khan. Excerpted by permission of Interlink Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.