Excerpt from Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Solace of the Road

by Siobhan Dowd

Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd X
Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2009, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


‘Yeah, what news, Miko?’ I asked, not really interested, and Trim smashed his fist to within an inch of my nose.

Miko jerked his head, meaning ‘outside’. So I left Kate W running down the ship’s corridor and followed Miko out to the little staff office with all the files. The files were lined up in grey boxes and each person’s name was on at least one box, and the longer they’d been in Templeton House the more boxes they had. I had six boxes, more than anyone.

Miko sat on the swivel chair. I sat on a wooden fold-up chair by the window and rested my trainers on the edge of the litterbin. You could see the garden from there and it was grey and brown and dripping, which was fine. I was smiling, thinking how if I was Kate W with the axe I’d have gone for the creepy man who wants to marry her.

‘Holly,’ Miko said.

‘Yeah. What?’

‘Do you want to know what’s new or not?’

‘Whatever.’

‘It’s a placement prospect, Holly.’

I shrugged. I’d heard that one before. It never came to anything.

‘It’s just what you wanted. Nice-sounding couple. No kids.’

He was grinning ear to ear like I’d won the lottery. I reached over and got a scrunched-up ball of paper out of the bin and dropped it from one hand into the other.

‘You’re in serious luck, this time,’ Miko said.

‘Oh, yeah?’

‘Honestly. I’ve chatted it over with Rachel.’ Rachel is my social worker, which is different from a key worker. A key worker lives part-time in the Home with you and the social worker just works nine to five in an office, same as anyone.

‘She’s met them and she thinks they’re really good people,’ Miko was going.

Good people. I put a finger in my mouth, down my throat.

‘OK. Nice people. They have a very pretty house. Victorian and all done up. You’d have a room all your own. And like I said, no kids.’

‘Are they Irish?’ I said.

‘Hey?’

‘Grace only has black placements. So I only want Irish.’

‘C’mon, Holly. Their name’s Aldridge. Which isn’t very Irish. But most English people have a bit of Irish somewhere – it’s a fact.’

‘Huh.’

‘So?’

‘So what?’

‘What d’you think, Holly?’

I threw the paper ball right at Miko but instead of it hitting him in the nose like I’d intended, he caught it real fast.

‘That’s what I think,’ I said. ‘Crap-ville.’

Miko threw the paper ball right back at me and I hit it back and we volleyed it around some and then he headed it straight back into the litterbin.

‘Aw, Holly,’ he said.

‘Aw, Miko,’ I said. I couldn’t help smiling. Miko was the best footballer I knew not signed up professional. ‘I don’t want a placement,’ I said. ‘I like it fine here.’

‘But school, Holly. You never go. With the Aldridges you’d start fresh at a new school. A better school.’

I looked as if to say Throw me another lemon.

‘Holly.’ Miko’s voice went quiet.

‘Yeah?’

‘Don’t pass this placement up on my account. Will you?’

I got the zipper of my sweatshirt and gave it a yank. ‘Ha ha. As if.’

‘Because, Holly, there’s something I want you to know.’

‘Yeah, what?’

‘I’m leaving here.’

There was a long silence. I turned back to the window and watched the raindrops cruising down like ants on a doomed mission. ‘Leaving?’ My voice felt small. ‘What d’you mean, leaving?’

Excerpted from Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd. Copyright © 2009 by Siobhan Dowd. Excerpted by permission of David Fickling Books. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Siobhan Dowd

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.