Excerpt from Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever by Judge Judy Sheindlin, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever

The Making of a Happy Woman

by Judge Judy Sheindlin

Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever by Judge Judy Sheindlin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 1999, 190 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2000, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Two minutes and thirteen seconds, your honor."

Well, maybe I exaggerate, but what does it matter? A day, a week, a month--who in her right mind would hand over her credit card to a virtual stranger? She trusted him, she claims. That's a lie. She never trusted him, not deep down. Betrayal is the story of her life. Thanks to her choice of boyfriends, she's always in debt.

Then there's the gal who comes before me who has let a guy move into her house after knowing him for a week. She is a successful businesswoman with a good head on her shoulders -- except for this. She describes how every night her new housemate would get duded up, borrow her car, and go out -- on business! She was supportive and patient. She was understanding. He was trying to make it in the restaurant business. That's why all his meetings took place after midnight. And she gave him the keys, her gas card, whatever. I wasn't born yesterday. All I had to do was take one look at this guy and I could read him like a bad novel. He wasn't and never had been the least bit interested in this very good-looking, middle-aged woman, who moved him into her home because she thought they had a relationship and perhaps a future together. He had the audacity to stand in front of me and proclaim that he'd made it clear to her from the start that they were just friends. She supports him, lends him money to start his own business, gives him her fancy car to drive every night, because she is a charitable woman. He is the aggrieved party. "She wanted more. She knew the deal. She's trying to get back at me because I don't want her."

  • 1
  • 2

Beauty Fades Dumb is Forever. Copyright (c) 1999 by Judy Sheindlin. Reprinted with permission from HarperCollins Publishers, Inc. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.