Summary and book reviews of Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever by Judge Judy Sheindlin

Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever

The Making of a Happy Woman

by Judge Judy Sheindlin

Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever by Judge Judy Sheindlin X
Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever by Judge Judy Sheindlin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 1999, 190 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2000, 208 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Judge Judy exposes, with her trademark wit and wisdom, these dirty little secrets so many women share and offers her own take on the destructive repercussions they have on women.

"My father was a kidder, and he could usually make me laugh; in laughing I was able to feel better about myself. He also gave me a piece of advice about beauty that has stayed with me. 'Beauty fades' he used to say, 'but dumb? Dumb is forever.' "

Judge Judy's father impressed upon her that a bright intellect, a curious mind, and a passion for learning are priceless commodities. "For as long as I can remember," she writes, "the worst insult someone could give me was to say 'You're stupid.' In fact to this day, it's second nature for me when I'm on the bench to point a finger to the side of my head and ask, 'Does it say stupid here?' "--the implied answer being a resounding no.

In the course of her career as a family court judge and a presiding judge on the popular courtroom show that bears her name, Judge Judy has seen over and over again, the devastating fallout for women who have made stupid choices on marriage, parenting and their future. She has seen women make excuses for those who abuse them and women who tolerate demeaning and demoralizing conditions at work. She has seen women who, instead of choosing mates, allowed themselves to be chosen. She has seen women who elected to defer to men instead of their own judgment.

Here, the savvy, opinionated, and irrepressible Judge Judy exposes, with her trademark wit and wisdom, these dirty little secrets so many women share and offers her own take on the destructive repercussions they have on women. Using real cases involving women of every background--from the most affluent and successful to young girls just starting out--as well as stories from her own life, Judge Judy shows women how to fix their attitude and, equally important, how to teach their daughters to follow their dreams by keeping their individuality intact.

As a judge, wife, mother, and grandmother, judge Judy understands the lasting currency of self-esteem and independence, and when she voices her tough-minded opinions daily in her courtroom, everyone listens. In Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever, she instills in women--with the help of provocative and hilarious examples from her own life--the urgency of building a solid foundation within. On building character. On nourishing yourself. On learning from mistakes and fighting battles you can't win. On understanding what sex can and cannot do for you. On the importance of humor and self reliance. Her straight talk tells women to get on with it and never forget that smart is forever, too.

Don't Crawl When You Can Fly

When I was ten years old, my family moved from an apartment into a private house, which was a pretty big deal in those days. The house was about a twenty-minute bus ride from the old neighborhood in which I had grown up, and where all my friends were still living. I'd left behind not only friends, but most of my extended family--my grandparents, my aunts and uncles, and my cousin Shirley, with whom I'd always been close.

Shirley and I were the same age, but you'd never have known it. She had developed early, and was sprouting breasts. I was as flat as a pancake. One Saturday, Shirley invited me back to the old neighborhood for a visit. I took the bus, and she met me at the bus stop. We walked to the high school playing field to meet some of Shirley's friends. On the way, she explained to me that if you wanted to be popular, if you wanted to have a boyfriend, you had to let a boy touch your breasts.


I had never done anything like...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

People
[Sheindlin is] part Harry Truman, part Rhea Perlman: funny, quick-tempered, bluntly honest.

Library Journal
Those who have tuned into Judge Judy's TV broadcasts, even momentarily, will recognize her no-nonsense approach here. Her straightforward personality shines through her writing, making it a joy to read.

Publishers Weekly
Known to millions because of her TV program, Judge Judy, Sheindlin writes with the same theatrical no-nonsense directness that animates her on-air persona. Her theme is stated best in the title, which is just the first of many declarative chestnuts. Aimed at women trying to make it in male-dominated workplaces and traditional marriages, the book is broken into chapters that expound on basic principles illustrated with one or two examples from Sheindlin's long career.(Revlon, Manhattan Family Court, network television). There's a slew of surprisingly personal recollections about her own marriages, husbands and divorces. The forthright self-revelations reveal an unusual person with, apparently, no conception of being eccentric.

Reader Reviews

Judy Flores

I've loan my book to a few women friends and family members. All commented they really enjoyed the book. My 13 year old daughter read it front to back and understood clearly that " Beauty fades and Dumb is forever!"

Anonymous
Kate and Ren Smith
My husband and I loved this book. The advice was so good that it is required reading for our 14 year old daughter. She's smart and beautiful and we want to make sure she stays smart.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Beauty Fades, Dumb is Forever, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.