Excerpt from The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Earth Hums in B Flat

by Mari Strachan

The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan X
The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jun 2009, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


‘You don’t want people to think you’re odd, do you?’

‘Odd?’

‘Yes, odd. Touched. Funny in the head. Like Guto’r Wern.’ The kettle lets out a gentle steam, blinding the window, shutting out the rest of the world.

‘People won’t think I’m like Guto just because I can fly in my sleep,’ I say.

‘Dreaming is one thing. Saying you really do it is another. What did Aunty Lol say?’

‘She said perhaps I was a witch.’

‘You see what I mean?’ says Mam. Her knuckles turn white as she tightens the dressing gown’s sash around her waist.

The kettle belches steam in great snorts.

‘Fetch the tea tray,’ says Mam and takes it from me when I bring it into the living room. The cups and saucers rattle on the tray. It’s early for Mam’s nerves to be so bad. She sets the tray down on the table, then picks up the milk bottle from it and pushes it in front of my face.

‘You’ve given John Morris the top of the milk again,’ she says.

‘He likes it,’ I say.

‘So does everyone else,’ says Mam. ‘I’ve told you before not to waste it on the cat. I may as well talk to the man in the moon.’

She bangs the bottle down on the tray and scoops tea into the teapot. Two scoops. She lifts the kettle from the fire, holding it away from her to keep the soot from her dressing gown, and pours the water into the pot.

‘So, promise me you won’t say anything to anyone about it,’ she says.

‘About what?’ I say.

Mam’s hand shakes again as she puts the lid back on the teapot. ‘This flying nonsense.’

‘Not even to Alwenna?’

‘Certainly not,’ says Mam.

‘But she’s my Kindred Spirit. I want to show her how to fly, once I remember.’

‘Not Alwenna. It would be all round the council houses in no time. Cross your heart.’

I make a big cross over my heart. But I cross my fingers at the same time. Alwenna already knows about the flying I do at night. ‘Cross my heart,’ I say. ‘And hope to die.’ I drop down into Tada’s armchair and pull out my book.

Mam slips the knitted cosy over the teapot. ‘Don’t start reading now. You’ve got to get cracking this morning.’

‘Why? I can’t change the beds if Tada and Bethan are still in them.’

‘Bethan can do that today. I’ve promised you to Mrs Evans Brwyn Coch this morning to look after the two girls.’

‘I hate going to Brwyn Coch.’

‘Don’t be silly. You like the children.’

‘But I don’t like Mr Evans.’

‘Don’t like Ifan Evans?’ Mam stops pouring milk into the cups. ‘He’s a wonderful man. Well respected. I only promised you to Elin as a favour to him.’

‘His face is too red.’

‘He can’t help his red face, Gwenni. It’s because he’s out in the fields all day.’

‘He’s just like those Toby jugs.’

Mam looks up at the three jugs on their shelf above the looking glass. Straightaway, the Toby jugs pretend they’re not staring at the china woman that Mam and Tada were given as a wedding present by their best man who died in the war. The china woman stands on the sideboard and doesn’t wear any clothes at all, not even knickers. When the Toby jugs watch her they forget to smoke their pipes or drink from the tankards in their hands and their fat cheeks turn redder and redder and their eyes grow darker and darker.

‘Mr Evans doesn’t smoke or drink,’ Mam says. ‘Chapel deacons aren’t allowed to.’

Excerpted from The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan Copyright © 2009 by Mari Strachan. Excerpted by permission of Grove/Atlantic, Inc. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.