Mari Strachan biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mari Strachan
Photo: Mari Strachan

Mari Strachan

Mari Strachan Biography

Mari Strachan was born into a Welsh family in Harlech, which is located on the north-west coast of Wales, and was brought up there with Welsh as her first language.

After graduating from Cardiff University, she became a qualified chartered librarian, and she worked in a variety of libraries. She has also been a book reviewer, researcher, translator, copywriter and web editor.

In 2007 she acquired an MA (with distinction) in Creative Writing from Manchester Metropolitan University.

In addition to writing and reading, Strachan's interests include the history as well as future forms of sustainable living.

She and her husband now live on a tiny smallholding in Ceredigion.

Mari Strachan's website

This bio was last updated on 01/05/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Mari Strachan answers questions about her first book, The Earth Hums in B Flat, set in 1950s Wales.

We find it inspirational that you are being published for the first time in your sixties. Has this novel been a long time coming?

No. I've always written, on and off, scraps, short stories, even poems (terrible ones, I'm no poet!) but never thought anything was worth publishing. The urge to write is hard to ignore. I decided to focus on it, a now or never thing, and in 2002 applied for a place on a part-time, on-line creative writing Masters course with Manchester Metropolitan University. The course was excellent; the way it studied other novels and made me focus on my own writing showed me that I had been ignoring my own voice and style and trying to imitate other writers whose books I admired. That was a revelation to me. The Earth Hums in B Flat was written as the 'dissertation' element of the course. It began with an image that had been in my mind for some time (so maybe I should qualify that adamant 'no' at the beginning) of a skinny child, with wild red hair, balancing on the seat of a chair with her arms outstretched. Altogether, it took three years to write (there was a year when I did no writing when my energies were taken up by family matters). I graduated in 2007 with distinction, and ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mari Strachan at BookBrowse
The Earth Hums in B Flat jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mari Strachan but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Peter Ho Davies

    Peter Ho Davies

    Peter Ho Davies was born in 1966 to Welsh and Chinese parents. He has degrees in Physics and English, and was awarded an MA in Creative Writing from Boston University. He has worked in Malaysia, Singapore, and the USA, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Earth Hums in B Flat

    Try:
    The Welsh Girl
    by Peter Ho Davies

  • Marsha Mehran

    Marsha Mehran

    Born in Tehran, Marsha Mehran escaped the upheaval of the Iranian revolution with her family. She grew up in Argentina and the United States. She also lived in Australia and Ireland. Mehran's debut novel Pomegranate Soup was ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Earth Hums in B Flat

    Try:
    Pomegranate Soup
    by Marsha Mehran

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Electric Woman
    The Electric Woman
    by Tessa Fontaine
    In 2010, author Tessa Fontaine's mother had a near-fatal hemorrhagic stroke, leaving her with a...
  • Book Jacket: The Female Persuasion
    The Female Persuasion
    by Meg Wolitzer
    A college freshman struggling for identity. A 1960s feminist icon attempting to maintain her ...
  • Book Jacket: A Lucky Man
    A Lucky Man
    by Jamel Brinkley
    If his debut collection of short stories, A Lucky Man is any indicator, Jamel Brinkley is poised on ...
  • Book Jacket: Picture Us In The Light
    Picture Us In The Light
    by Kelly Loy Gilbert
    Kelly Loy Gilbert presents a beautiful narrative with myriad intertwined plotlines that explores the...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Harbor of Spies by Robin Lloyd

A captivating thriller-at-sea set in Spanish colonial Havana in the 1860s.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Anatomy of a Miracle
    by Jonathan Miles

    A stunning novel that offers an exploration of faith, science and the meaning of life.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Comedown

The Comedown by Rebekah Frumkin

A blistering dark comedy that explores delineating lines of race, class, religion, and time.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.