Excerpt from The Help by Kathryn Stockett, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Help

by Kathryn Stockett

The Help by Kathryn Stockett X
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2009, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 528 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Excerpt
The Help

Two days later, I sit in my parent’s kitchen, waiting for dusk to fall.  I give in and light another cigarette even though last night the surgeon general came on the television set and shook his finger at everybody, trying to convince us that smoking will kill us.  But Mother once told me tongue kissing would turn me blind and I’m starting to think it’s all just a big plot between the surgeon general and Mother to make sure no one ever has any fun.

At eight o’clock that same night, I’m stumbling down Aibileen’s street as discreetly as one can carrying a fifty-pound Corona typewriter.  I knock softly, already dying for another cigarette to calm my nerves.  Aibileen answers and I slip inside.  She’s wearing the same green dress and stiff black shoes as last time.

I try to smile, like I’m confident it will work this time, despite the idea she explained over the phone.  “Could we… sit in the kitchen this time?” I ask.  “Would you mind?”

“Alright.  Ain’t nothing to look at, but come on back.”

The kitchen is about half the size of the living room and warmer.  It smells like tea and lemons.  The black-and-white linoleum floor has been scrubbed thin.  There’s just enough counter for the china tea set.

I set the typewriter on a scratched red table under the window.  Aibileen starts to pour the hot water into the teapot.

“Oh, none for me, thanks,” I say and reach in my bag.  “I brought us some Co-Colas if you want one.”  I’ve tried to come up with ways to make Aibileen more comfortable.   Number One: Don’t make Aibileen feel like she has to serve me.

“Well, ain’t that nice.  I usually don’t take my tea till later anyway.”  She brings over an opener and two glasses.  I drink mine straight from the bottle and seeing this, she pushes the glasses aside, does the same.

I called Aibileen after Elizabeth gave me the note, and listened hopefully, as Aibileen told me her idea—for her to write her own words down and then show me what she’s written.  I tried to act excited.  But I know I’ll have to rewrite everything she’s written, wasting even more time.  I thought it might make it easier if she could see it in type-face instead of me reading it and telling her it can’t work this way.

We smile at each other.  I take a sip of my Coke, smooth my blouse.  “So…” I say.

Aibileen has a wire-ringed notebook in front of her.  “Want me to… just go head and read?”

“Sure,” I say.

We both take deep breaths and she begins reading in a slow, steady voice.

“My first white baby to ever look after was named Alton Carrington Speers.  It was 1924 and I’d just turned fifteen years old.  Alton was a long, skinny baby with hair fine as silk on a corn…”

I begin typing as she reads, her words rhythmic, pronounced more clearly than her usual talk.  “Every window in that filthy house was painted shut on the inside, even though the house was big with a wide green lawn.  I knew the air was bad, felt sick myself…”

“Hang on,” I say.  I’ve typed wide greem.  I blow on the typing fluid, retype it.  “Okay, go ahead.”

“When the mama died, six months later,” she reads, “of the lung disease, they kept me on to raise Alton until they moved away to Memphis.  I loved that baby and he loved me and that’s when I knew I was good at making children feel proud of themselves…”

  • 1
  • 2

Excerpted from The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Copyright © 2009 by Kathryn Stockett. Excerpted by permission of Penguin Goup (USA). All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Medgar Evers

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.