Excerpt from The Welsh Girl by Peter Ho Davies, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Welsh Girl

by Peter Ho Davies

The Welsh Girl
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2007, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

“Then you should be able to fake it better. How did they spot you, by the way?”

“Lice,” Rotheram said, making a face. “I didn’t have any. They saw I wasn’t scratching.”

The other shook his head.

“And how’s the rib?”

“Sore, but I can work.”

“All right. You want some excitement, then?”

“Sir?”

Hawkins began writing out a chit on his blotter, and Rotheram felt a surge of excitement. Paris!

“I’m giving you a staff car, sending you on a little trip. You’re off to Wales, my boy.”

“Wales?” It sounded like a joke. “With respect, sir, I want to go east, not west.”

“Think of it as a little holiday,” the CO said drolly. “You’re going to see Hess.”

Rotheram paused, watching Hawkins’s pen twitch across the page.

“Rudolf Hess?”

“No, Rudolph ruddy Reindeer. Who do you think?”

Rotheram had seen Hess once before, in Germany, in ’35. The only one of the party leaders he ’d ever glimpsed in person. It was at a football match. Hertha Berlin and Bayer Leverkusen. Hess had arrived with his entourage a little after kickoff. There’d been a popping of flashbulbs, a stirring in the crowd, and then the referee had blown the whistle and stopped the game for the players to give the Heil Hitler. Hess had returned the salute smartly and gone back to signing autographs. He’d been deputy führer then, a post he ’d held until 1941 when he’d flown to Britain. It had been a sensation at the time — was he a traitor? was he on a secret mission? — but now Hess was almost an afterthought.

“Even if he has any secrets left they’d be old hat,” Rotheram observed.

“He still has at least one, apparently,” the CO said, placing the travel orders on top of a thick file. “We don’t know if he ’s sane or not. He ’s tried to kill himself a couple of times, and he ’s been claiming selective amnesia for years. Says he has no recollection of anything important. Not of his mission, not of the war. It’s all a fog, supposedly.”

“He’s acting?”

“If so, he ’s doing a splendid job. He’s been maintaining the same story pretty much since landing in Scotland.”

Rotheram looked at the file on the desk between them, the dog-eared pages bound together with ribbon.

“What makes you think I’ll be able to crack him?”

“Not sure you will, my boy. Plenty of others have had a go.

Medics, intel bods. The Americans.”

“But you don’t trust them.”

The CO sighed. “Hess is the biggest name we have so far, and if there ’s a trial when this is all over, he ’s likely to be a star in it. Only not if he ’s gaga. Not if he ’s unbalanced, you follow? It’ll make a mockery. Problem is, if we don’t put him up, it’ll smell fishy to the Soviets. They’re convinced he came here to conclude a peace between us and the Nazis to leave them free to concentrate in the East.” Hawkins shook his head. “The one thing for sure is if he does end up in the dock, we’ll be the buggers building the case. I just want someone I know to have a look-see.”

“This isn’t exactly what I had in mind when I asked for a transfer.”

“ ‘In which we serve,’ dear boy,” the CO told him with a shrug. “You’re going up the wall, so I’m giving you something.” He smiled, then craned forward again. “You want a role in the trials? You want to play a part in that? Well, this is the beginning. Do this right and you might do yourself some good.”

Copyright © 2007 by Peter Ho Davies. Reprinted by permission of Houghton Mifflin Company.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.