Excerpt from The Poet's Funeral by John M. Daniel, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Poet's Funeral

by John M. Daniel

The Poet's Funeral
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2005, 257 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2006, 257 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"She's pretty pissed off at Heidi?" Carol asked.

"Wouldn't you be? This was supposed to be big time. He'll be there," Lawrence added, putting his pudgy finger on an advance reading copy of our new Arthur Summers collection, which will be published in September. "Professor Poet Laureate. He'll be handing Heidi the award. I want to see that! Please, Guy, isn't there somebody you could ask?"

Carol said, "Lawrence, we're not scalpers, we're publishers. And right now we don't have time to walk the aisles shmoozing and begging for tickets."

"But your booth is finished, and maybe…"

"And maybe it's time for us to go have a cool shower and a quick nap at our hotel. Sorry, Lawrence. Ready, Guy?"

"In a minute," I said. "Lawrence, maybe you should wander over to the Random House aisle, over in the three thousands. Maybe you'll fi nd Charles Levin. He probably has plenty of party invites to give out. You should hit him up for the Linda Sonora party tomorrow night. Those invitations are going fast." Lawrence nodded quickly, smiled quickly, and scurried away like an overdue white rabbit.

"What was all that about?" Carol asked me. "Levin won't be helping with the setup."

"I know. I wanted to get rid of Holgerson before we left the booth. I don't trust him."

"Come to think of it," Carol said, "I put out five advance copies of the new Summers book. Now there's only four."

***

We were staying in the Landmark Hotel, right across the street from the Convention Center. The good news was we didn't have to drive to the show and pay for parking. More good news was that the Landmark was cheap, forty bucks a night, which was because of the bad news: the Landmark was a dump. It looked like a mushroom from Mars from the outside; from the inside, a dump.

It had seen better days, even great days on the Las Vegas scale. Built by Howard Hughes back in the sixties, it was once the tallest building in town. Hughes lived like an eagle at the top, and nobody ever saw him leave; but his money was like a magnet that brought in the high-rollers and celebrities. After Hughes died the place was sold a couple of times and now nobody would buy it. It was bankrupt and there were rumors that it would be leveled by dynamite later in the summer. It had managed to stay open long enough to be in business during the ABA, but that was it. Half the staff had been let go, the rest of the staff was surly, the halls were dingy, the carpets were threadbare, the casino downstairs was oddly quiet, and our room reminded me of the Schooner Inn in Santa Barbara, which I remembered with nostalgia but not with admiration.

Who cares? It was cheap, and it was close. And it was air-conditioned, which was a blessing after the short hike across Paradise Road. Besides, the only reason we needed a hotel room was to crash when we were too exhausted to notice the peeling wallpaper or the rust stain in the sink.

We walked through the muted casino to the bank of elevators and pressed UP. We could hear the machinery grinding for a couple of minutes and then the door opened and we walked into the elevator and I hit the button for the twelfth floor. As the door slid closed, we heard a voice call, "Stop!"

I put my hand on the rubber just before the door closed, and it backed open again and another passenger got in with us. She was a young woman, a short redhead, pretty if a bit pudgy, sweaty and blown by the desert wind, wearing jeans and an I Love New York tee shirt, and she had four camera bags hanging from her shoulders.

"God," she said, with a toothy smile. "Whew. This is one hot town, I'll tell ya. Where are you staying? Oh, right, the Landmark. Yeah, me too. Some place, huh? What's wrong with this elevator? How come it's not working?"

From The Poet's Funeral by James M Daniel. Copyright © 2005 by James M. Daniel. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in, or introduced into a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form, or by any means without the prior written permission of both the copy right owner and the publisher of this book.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.