John M. Daniel biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

John M. Daniel

John M. Daniel

John M. Daniel Biography

John M. Daniel is a graduate of Stanford University (American Literature), where he also did graduate study as a Wallace Stegner Fellow in the Creative Writing Program. He completed the Radcliffe College Publishing Procedures Course, and was an editor at the Stanford University Press; the buyer for Kepler's Bookstore in Menlo Park, California; and the sales manager for Capra Press in Santa Barbara, California.

He is the author of eleven published books and over seventy-five published articles and short stories.

Poisoned Pen Press published the first of his Guy Mallon mysteries, The Poet's Funeral, in hardcover in 2005; the second volume, Vanity Fire, was published in hardcover in October 2006, at the same time that the paperback of The Poet's Funeral was released.

He has taught creative writing at UCLA Extension, UC Irvine Extension, UC Santa Barbara Extension, Santa Barbara Adult Education, and Northern Humboldt County Adult Education; and he is on the faculty of the annual Santa Barbara Writer's Conference.

John Daniel and his wife Susan are the founders and proprietors of Daniel & Daniel, Publishers, Inc., a small literary press that publishes several high-quality books each year. In addition, John also offers a number of freelance literary services, including editing (copy editing, line editing, developmental editing), writing (assignment pieces and ghostwriting), manuscript submission guidance, and ongoing writing career mentorship.

John Daniel's website

This bio was last updated on 04/04/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John M. Daniel at BookBrowse
The Poet's Funeral jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John M. Daniel but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Dunning

    John Dunning

    John Dunning is the Nero Wolfe Award-winning author of Booked to Die; The Bookman's Wake, a New York Times Notable Book of 1995; and The Bookman's Promise. An expert on rare and collectible books, he owned the Old Algonquin ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Poet's Funeral

    Try:
    The Sign of The Book
    by John Dunning

  • Joanne Harris

    Joanne Harris

    Joanne Harris was born in Barnsley, Yorkshire on July 3, 1964, her mother is French, her father English.  She was educated at Wakefield Girls' High and Barnsley Sixth Form College, and then read Modern and Mediaeval ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Poet's Funeral

    Try:
    Gentlemen and Players
    by Joanne Harris

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Lincoln in the Bardo
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    by George Saunders
    George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo is a philosophy discourse brilliantly disguised as a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Tender
    by Belinda McKeon
    Most of us have heard the slightly trite saying: "If you love something, set it free." But one can ...
  • Book Jacket
    All Tomorrow's Parties
    by Rob Spillman
    In this absorbing memoir, co-founder of Tin House magazine, Rob Spillman, recalls his artistic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    A Piece of the World
    by Christina Baker Kline

    A stunning novel of friendship, passion, and art from the #1 bestselling author of Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Fifth Petal
    by Brunonia Barry

    Beloved author Brunonia Barry returns to the world of The Lace Reader with this spellbinding new thriller.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.