Excerpt from Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Boiling Point

How Politicians, Big Oil and Coal, Journalists and Activists Are Fueling the Climate Crisis--and What We Can Do to Avert Disaster

by Ross Gelbspan

Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan X
Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2004, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2005, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


In July 2002, the attorneys general of eleven states called on the White House to provide leadership in combating climate change. Calling global warming 'the most pressing environmental problem of our time,' the attorneys general called on Bush to cap carbon emissions. The group, which included the chief legal officers of New York, California, Massachusetts, and Alaska, criticized the president for not proposing 'a credible plan that is consistent with the dire findings and conclusions being reported.'

'By acting now to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, the Bush administration can provide regulatory certainty to the business community, can spur private sector investment in renewable energy and energy efficiency, and can lay the groundwork to avoid the potentially disastrous environmental, public health, and economic impacts of global warning,' noted New York attorney general Elliot Spitzer.

Several months later, at the U.S. Conference of Mayors, the chief executives of nearly 250 cities called on Bush to act now on climate change, noting: '[T]he scientific community has reached a consensus that human activities are impacting the Earth's climate.'

They added, 'Mayors are uniquely situated to lead national climate protection efforts by taking action in a broad range of areas.' In their resolution, they noted that 'many mayors are already pursuing programs and policies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in their cities and communities, including more than 125 local governments that have committed to assessing emissions, setting a specific reduction target for greenhouse gas emissions and monitoring progress.'

When the Bush administration refused to heed the calls of state and city officials, the attorneys general of seven states escalated their efforts in early 2003, filing a lawsuit against the federal government for refusing to regulate carbon dioxide through the Environmental Protection Agency.

They dropped that suit in favor of a broader one eight months later when eleven states, along with the District of Columbia and American Samoa, sued the federal government for its failure to deal with climate change. That suit, which was still pending as of this writing, claimed the EPA is required by the U.S. Clean Air Act to regulate greenhouse gas emissions.

'Because the United States is already dealing with the harmful effects of global warming, the American people want less talk and more action now,' Rhode Island attorney general Patrick Lynch said in a statement.

The attorneys general dismissed a claim by the EPA that the agency lacked authority from Congress to regulate greenhouse gases, citing the EPA's denial of a petition to impose controls on vehicles' greenhouse gas emissions.

Massachusetts attorney general Thomas Reilly said the carbon emissions are causing real environmental and health problems. 'You're seeing the erosion of our beaches. You're seeing saltwater contaminate our drinking water. You see damage to our infrastructure, to our roads and our causeways and our bridges,' he said.

On the West Coast, the governors of Washington, Oregon, and California announced in 2003 that they were pooling their resources to buy high-efficiency vehicles, develop renewable sources of electricity, and institute a verifiable system of measuring and reporting on greenhouse gas emissions.

Commenting on the partnership, K. C. Golden, of the Washington-based group Climate Solutions, noted: 'We can't afford to wait while the federal government fiddles. We have too much to lose as the climate becomes unstable, and too much to gain by taking a leadership role in developing climate solutions. The rest of the world's advanced economies have already begun to retool for a successful, prosperous transition to clean energy sources and efficient energy systems. With this announcement, the Governors are clearly signaling that the federal government won't stop America's most forward-looking states from taking action.'

From Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan, pages 93-126 of the hardcover edition.  Reprinted with Permission from Basic Books – Copyright 2004.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.