MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Boiling Point

How Politicians, Big Oil and Coal, Journalists and Activists Are Fueling the Climate Crisis--and What We Can Do to Avert Disaster

by Ross Gelbspan

Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan X
Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2004, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2005, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Passionate advocacy and lucid analysis. Current Affairs/Environment

From the book jacket: A brilliant examination of the most challenging environmental and political crisis this civilization has ever faced; Gelbspan shows not only the seriousness of climate disruption, but also how it could be deflected at huge savings to the public.

Comment:  To see that global warming is effecting our weather patterns, look at the insurance industry.  During the 1980s insurance companies in the USA lost an average of $2 billion a year to weather extremes, but this rose to an average of $12 billion a year in the 1990s.  The United Nations estimate that in this decade the annual losses to the global economy from climate impacts will approximate $150 billion a year.  

Climate change is not an issue for tomorrow but something that is effecting the world today, and is integrally connected with most of the key economic issues facing the world, such as disease and terrorism.  Across the world increasing temperatures are leading to growth in diseases - for example, malaria, and other mosquito borne diseases, are spreading outside their normal territory as winter temperatures fail to fall low enough to kill the larvae, eggs and adult mosquitoes.   Renewable energy would dramatically reduce our dependency on the Middle East, an area that will likely become more volatile as oil reserves start to be exhausted.  Also, more locally generated energy would make the electricity grid a far less strategic target for terrorists.

So what is the world doing about global warming?  Outside the US the debate as to whether humanity is having an effect on global warming is pretty much over, and countries have moved into action.  For example Holland plans to cut emissions by 80% in 40 years, the UK and Germany have committed to cut emissions by 60% in 50 years.  So what is the USA government doing?  The short answer is othing; actually worse than nothing.  The good news is that the federal government doesn't hold all the power and many states in the union are taking things into their own hands.  More than thirty states have either developed--or are already implementing--programs to reduce their carbon emissions; and in 2003 seven states actually filed a lawsuit against the federal government for refusing to regulate carbon dioxide through the Environmental Protection Agency.

As always, don't take my word for it, instead form your own opinion by reading the extensive (and I believe exclusive to BookBrowse) excerpt from Boiling Point.

This review is from the Boiling Point. It first ran in the November 9, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.