BookBrowse Reviews Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Boiling Point

How Politicians, Big Oil and Coal, Journalists and Activists Are Fueling the Climate Crisis--and What We Can Do to Avert Disaster

by Ross Gelbspan

Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan X
Boiling Point by Ross Gelbspan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2004, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2005, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Passionate advocacy and lucid analysis. Current Affairs/Environment

From the book jacket: A brilliant examination of the most challenging environmental and political crisis this civilization has ever faced; Gelbspan shows not only the seriousness of climate disruption, but also how it could be deflected at huge savings to the public.

Comment:  To see that global warming is effecting our weather patterns, look at the insurance industry.  During the 1980s insurance companies in the USA lost an average of $2 billion a year to weather extremes, but this rose to an average of $12 billion a year in the 1990s.  The United Nations estimate that in this decade the annual losses to the global economy from climate impacts will approximate $150 billion a year.  

Climate change is not an issue for tomorrow but something that is effecting the world today, and is integrally connected with most of the key economic issues facing the world, such as disease and terrorism.  Across the world increasing temperatures are leading to growth in diseases - for example, malaria, and other mosquito borne diseases, are spreading outside their normal territory as winter temperatures fail to fall low enough to kill the larvae, eggs and adult mosquitoes.   Renewable energy would dramatically reduce our dependency on the Middle East, an area that will likely become more volatile as oil reserves start to be exhausted.  Also, more locally generated energy would make the electricity grid a far less strategic target for terrorists.

So what is the world doing about global warming?  Outside the US the debate as to whether humanity is having an effect on global warming is pretty much over, and countries have moved into action.  For example Holland plans to cut emissions by 80% in 40 years, the UK and Germany have committed to cut emissions by 60% in 50 years.  So what is the USA government doing?  The short answer is othing; actually worse than nothing.  The good news is that the federal government doesn't hold all the power and many states in the union are taking things into their own hands.  More than thirty states have either developed--or are already implementing--programs to reduce their carbon emissions; and in 2003 seven states actually filed a lawsuit against the federal government for refusing to regulate carbon dioxide through the Environmental Protection Agency.

As always, don't take my word for it, instead form your own opinion by reading the extensive (and I believe exclusive to BookBrowse) excerpt from Boiling Point.

This review is from the November 9, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.