Excerpt from The Mind at Night by Andrea Rock, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Mind at Night

The New Science of How and Why we Dream

by Andrea Rock

The Mind at Night
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2004, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Jouvet’s work so electrified American investigators that in 1962 Rechtschaffen invited the French scientist to speak in Chicago at the second meeting of the professional association he and Dement had formed in 1960 for the rapidly growing multidisciplinary specialty of sleep and dream research. A year later, the group met in New York, and at that meeting, a figure who’d long been missing from the field wandered through the crowd, attracting little attention until a young researcher happened to spot his name tag and realized he’d just bumped into the man who discovered REM. The young man blurted out "You’re Eugene Aserinsky? I thought you were dead!" Most scientists thought Aserinsky had dropped out because he’d simply lost interest, but the reality was that his career had been derailed by family tragedy. His wife suffered a mental breakdown after the birth of their second child while Aserinsky was still conducting the REM experiments in Chicago, and after being institutionalized several times, she committed suicide. Sadly, though he attempted a comeback, he died in a car accident in 1998 after retiring from a rather lackluster college teaching career.

But the field he’d launched continued to grow exponentially as researchers exchanged ideas in meetings such as those organized by Rechtschaffen and Dement. "At the meetings everyone tried to keep up with everything, no matter how seemingly remote it might be from their own workaday interests," recalled David Foulkes. "The group, despite the gradually increasing disparity of its interests, both worked and played well together."

In keeping with that inquisitive, anything-goes spirit, dream researchers were quick to go wherever the action was. In the early 1960s, that was Lyon, France, where Jouvet was conducting his innovative experiments with sleeping cats. Among those who made the pilgrimage was an ambitious young psychiatrist from Harvard Medical School. Brilliant and opinionated, alternately charming and abrasive, he was about to change the face of dream research.

From The Mind at Night, chapter 1, pages 1-16. Copyright 2004 by Andrea Rock. All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced in any manner whatsoever, except for brief quotations embodied in critical articles with reviews, without written permission from the publisher, Basic Books.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.