MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fortune In Your Cookies

Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating

by Meena Cheng

Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng X
Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Mar 2002, 229 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Chapter Two
Million Dollar Beef Stew

Your greatest asset is your earning ability. Your greatest resource is your time.
-- Brian Tracy


When the incessant Seattle rain starts to feel like the Chinese water torture, it's time to head over to Ronnie's house and wheedle a bowl of beef stew from her. Though Ronnie is my favorite cousin, I can say without prejudice that nobody makes a better beef stew than she does. And the price of her stew is quite reasonable – just a bottle of her favorite Cabernet Sauvignon and a loaf of crusty Italian bread from her favorite bakery, which is inconveniently located all the way on the other side of town. Even counting the hour of back and forth traffic to the bakery, it's still a small price to pay for a piece of gastronomic paradise and a delightful evening of her company. We made our dinner date for Saturday night at six o'clock.

At ten minutes to six, armed with the red wine and crusty bread, I arrived at Ronnie's door and rang the bell.

Looking very domestic in her blue-checked apron, Ronnie opened the door and let out an avalanche of tantalizing fragrances. I kissed her on the cheek and took a deep breath of the air that's suffused with the tender scent of herbs and the robust aroma of roasted meat. Warmed by the heat radiating from the blazing fire in the living room next to the foyer, I asked myself, not for the first time, why I did not visit here more often.

I closed the door behind me and followed Ronnie into her kitchen. One glance at the gleaming copper pans hanging from the ceiling rack and the healthy pots of herbs sitting along the windowsills tells you it is a room well used and cared for by an attentive mistress.

I placed the bread and wine on the kitchen counter and smelled cinnamon rolls baking in the oven. "You didn't!" I gasped with pleasure, knowing that she most certainly did.

Ronnie looked up from the white frosting she was whipping and smiled. "I know it's your favorite," she said. So much affection was enfolded in those few simple words. I hugged her and told her I love her. Something else I don't do enough anymore because there is always something more pressing to do and places to go. Oddly, I remembered what Tammy had said about still being a rat even if we win the rat race. I began to wonder if she had a point.

As much as I love homemade cinnamon rolls, I had stopped taking the time to make them, just as I had neglected other simple pleasures in life I don't have time for anymore. I must have mentioned to Ronnie in passing about craving some, and she remembered. Knowing her life was as hectic as mine, I was touched that she would take the time from her busy schedule to bake for me.

Making cinnamon rolls is an all day event. She takes the time to allow the dough to rise twice in order to coax more life from the yeast. She plumps the raisins in Portugal Port wine for extra sweetness. But the best part is the topping, which is half goat and half cow cream cheese whipped with a few generous splashes of Grand Marnier and dollops of French butter. Someone has to love you very much to go to all this bother to make you happy.

I helped her set the table and sliced the bread, two things I could do without encroaching on the chef's sacred cooking territory.

We sat down in the cozy nook next to the kitchen that looked out to the Seattle skyline. The slowly developing evening fog was starting to blur the skyline, adding a surreal layer to the twilight beyond.

When the stew was served, I eagerly picked up my spoon to take a bite. It was every bit as good as I remembered: The seasonings were skillfully balanced and the texture was positively sensuous. I closed my eyes and uttered some unintelligent sound of absolute bliss.

Copyright 2001 by Meena Cheng. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the author: meena.consulting@gte.net

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.