Excerpt from Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fortune In Your Cookies

Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating

by Meena Cheng

Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Mar 2002, 229 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Maybe if you had met the bad twin twenty years ago and cooked him your marvelous beef stew, you could have taught him the secret to great wealth and the power of compound interest. Besides, you always have this twisted soft spot for the bad guys, so you two might just hit it off." I winked and she bursted out laughing.

"Skye, darling," Ronnie almost purred. "If I wanted to impress a guy, beef stew would be the last thing I'd try to charm him with. It takes something with a little more flair, a chocolate soufflé maybe, to woo a guy."

I wasn't going to argue with her on that, since that's exactly how she lured her husband to the altar.

"But my point is," I said, "there may be nothing exciting about making beef stew, but you always know that what you have at the end is something predictably delicious. It's the same thing with growing our money over time – it's not in the least exciting, but it's the best and most reliable ingredient to create great wealth."

I leaned over the table and playfully added, "And just look at the benefits of cooking beef stew for this guy. Instead of slaving in the kitchen over the soufflé, and worrying if it would fall flat in that critical moment when your guy was watching, you get to cozy up with him all day to see if he qualifies to move to your soufflé stage. You have plenty of time to dazzle him with your cooking prowess if he proves himself to be worth your while."

Ronnie laughed. "Aren't we glad we are no longer in the dating game?"

I raised my glass, with only a sip of wine left, and said, "You bet!"

Copyright 2001 by Meena Cheng. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the author: meena.consulting@gte.net

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.