Excerpt from Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fortune In Your Cookies

Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating

by Meena Cheng

Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng X
Fortune In Your Cookies by Meena Cheng
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Mar 2002, 229 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"Maybe if you had met the bad twin twenty years ago and cooked him your marvelous beef stew, you could have taught him the secret to great wealth and the power of compound interest. Besides, you always have this twisted soft spot for the bad guys, so you two might just hit it off." I winked and she bursted out laughing.

"Skye, darling," Ronnie almost purred. "If I wanted to impress a guy, beef stew would be the last thing I'd try to charm him with. It takes something with a little more flair, a chocolate soufflé maybe, to woo a guy."

I wasn't going to argue with her on that, since that's exactly how she lured her husband to the altar.

"But my point is," I said, "there may be nothing exciting about making beef stew, but you always know that what you have at the end is something predictably delicious. It's the same thing with growing our money over time – it's not in the least exciting, but it's the best and most reliable ingredient to create great wealth."

I leaned over the table and playfully added, "And just look at the benefits of cooking beef stew for this guy. Instead of slaving in the kitchen over the soufflé, and worrying if it would fall flat in that critical moment when your guy was watching, you get to cozy up with him all day to see if he qualifies to move to your soufflé stage. You have plenty of time to dazzle him with your cooking prowess if he proves himself to be worth your while."

Ronnie laughed. "Aren't we glad we are no longer in the dating game?"

I raised my glass, with only a sip of wine left, and said, "You bet!"

Copyright 2001 by Meena Cheng. No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the author: meena.consulting@gte.net

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.