Not Logged in.
Book Jacket

Remembrance


A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground ...
More about this book

Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Created: 02/15/20

Replies: 27

Posted Feb. 15, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
davinamw

Join Date: 10/15/10

Posts: 2619

Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)


Posted Feb. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
carolt

Join Date: 03/25/17

Posts: 110

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Excellent use of time and space as characters. And, yes, magic.


Posted Feb. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
janhubbard

Join Date: 04/11/19

Posts: 17

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I thought this was a great book - good story and well written.


Posted Feb. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
Maggie

Join Date: 01/01/16

Posts: 293

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I enjoyed the book. However I had to make notes on who all the characters were. I was getting mixed up on who was who and where they were from. Not the authors fault but mine.


Posted Feb. 23, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
djcminor

Join Date: 03/14/19

Posts: 123

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I must admit that I started the book over twice because I couldn't get into the story at first. Then I was drawn into the magic and the characters.


Posted Feb. 23, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
Marcia S

Join Date: 02/08/16

Posts: 344

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I found the braided story confusing at first and had to take notes of who each character was. I did like the book and found the magical powers very intriguing. I cared about the characters and felt the book was well written.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
swchis39

Join Date: 09/26/12

Posts: 113

Overall)

Enjoyed the book after a slow start. This is a subject we should never forget.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
ireneh

Join Date: 11/22/19

Posts: 29

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Remembrance is one of those books which invites you to leave your comfort zone and enter into other possibilities. The complexity of the story combined with the inclusion of magical realism in the storytelling ask the reader to bring both attention and imagination to the text. While this can be confusing, it also challenges you to enter into the character's minds and lives.
There are also many events and turning points within the plot to encourage the important question of the reader: what would I do? In addition, the characters are not static. They change relative to the things which occur in their lives. It's always good to leave a book with residual questions for oneself in mind.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
alycet

Join Date: 04/23/12

Posts: 160

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I think the different character plots were woven together in an unusual but nice way.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
gerrieb

Join Date: 09/03/19

Posts: 90

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I was enthralled by Remembrance. I received my copy in December, I believe. I remember thinking that perhaps it would take me awhile to read it so I would start early, just in case it was hard for me to get into. Well... not to worry. I stayed up reading far into the night. I finished in three days and was left with so many residual thoughts. The powerful stories of female empowerment and mysticism that feed the historical narratives make for a read offering a journey of self discovery as well as a complex and character driven narrative. Remembrance is a tour de force, a powerful and at times a shattering read.


Posted Feb. 25, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
jennluna

Join Date: 03/12/19

Posts: 6

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

As others have stated, I had a hard time getting into the book. It took me longer than usual to read. However, once I did get into it, I enjoyed the characters and plot. I liked the different timelines.


Posted Feb. 25, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
ruthiea

Join Date: 02/03/14

Posts: 190

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I really enjoyed the first, historic storyline but found the second storyline unnecessary. In general i found there was an extreme amount of repetition - people thinking and doing the same thing over and over. I found it took too long for things to happen - just for someone to get up and help another took forever sometimes.


Posted Feb. 26, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
sallyh

Join Date: 09/07/12

Posts: 112

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

It took me quite a while to really get into the book, but eventually it became hard to put down. I think the book could use more editing.


Posted Feb. 26, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
GrandmaMary

Join Date: 04/21/15

Posts: 10

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

As stated by others the beginning was confusing with jumping among times and characters but once I got into it I really enjoyed it. I was not thrilled with the ending.


Posted Feb. 27, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
annar

Join Date: 06/13/11

Posts: 88

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

When I first started this book, I didn't like it. However, once I got into it I had trouble putting it down. I did have to work to keep the characters straight. I found the ending confusing and I wanted to know more about what was going to happen in Gaelle's life.


Posted Feb. 27, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
dorothyh

Join Date: 01/23/15

Posts: 168

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Overall I liked the book, agree with others it was hard to keep the characters straight in my mind. Well written historical novel. Wanted to know more about Gaelle.


Posted Mar. 02, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
RuthEh

Join Date: 07/31/17

Posts: 50

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I greatly enjoyed the book. Also got a slow start, then couldn't put the book down! Well written by a new author that tells a story of American history or future possibilities? One of those stick-with-it books, it's going to get better! Possible sequel?


Posted Mar. 02, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
Sue S

Join Date: 02/29/20

Posts: 6

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

It was not at all what I expected. I was ready for an multi-generational history with some sort of passed down talisman. Maybe a few unknown relations uncovered along the way. The whole slavery tragedy tore apart families and I was expecting a long lost item that had been handed down thru generations to serve as the way to discover family in unexpected places - like the care home. Overall, the book was well written, but too fantastical for my tastes.


Posted Mar. 03, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
veronica

Join Date: 10/17/12

Posts: 9

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I enjoyed Remembrance. I imagined the town of Remembrance in my mind as I was reading.


Posted Mar. 03, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
wendyf

Join Date: 05/11/11

Posts: 40

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I really enjoyed it. It was different than what I was expecting but truly well written.


Posted Mar. 06, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
labbelee

Join Date: 04/29/11

Posts: 20

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I also found it difficult to get into and keep track of characters. But author has an amazing imagination in creating Remembrance, a place that many would like to live there.


Posted Mar. 07, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
beverlyj

Join Date: 12/22/11

Posts: 102

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I enjoyed this storyline very much.

What I enjoyed most is that four women each had a special skill that was individual to her.
I do not quite remember such variety of “magic” , letting us know that there is more than one story even when you think that you know the storyline.


Posted Mar. 11, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
Muse48

Join Date: 12/27/18

Posts: 20

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Remembrance the book or Remembrance the place? The book captured my imagination in several ways. The place reminded me that, often times, we are our own jailers and we need a leader to help us see other modes of existence. The people of Remembrance learned that freedom is often a state of mind, and it is elusive and under-appreciated. On the other hand, evil is always just around the corner, as it was in Remembrance.


Posted Mar. 13, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
irishgirliereads

Join Date: 02/07/20

Posts: 5

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

As others have mentioned, it was a bit of a slow start to get the characters straight and the back and forth, but I really enjoyed it overall. Especially loved the magic aspects.


Posted Mar. 14, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
Lavender

Join Date: 01/29/19

Posts: 6

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I was intrigued by the story of Remembrance from the beginning to the end. It was the combination of the leadership and strength of women as well as their gifts of insight and magic.


Posted Mar. 14, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
dianaps

Join Date: 05/29/15

Posts: 460

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I found the book to be quite different than others I have read but I absolutely loved it!


Posted Mar. 20, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
xandrabk

Join Date: 04/16/19

Posts: 24

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

I was thoroughly impressed and thoroughly enjoyed this book! I am normally not drawn to fantasy/magic type books but after reading this book I think I may be moving into a new genre. I am glad that I chose to give Remembrance a chance.


Posted Mar. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
taking.mytime's Gravatar
taking.mytime

Join Date: 03/29/16

Posts: 261

RE: Overall, what do you think of Remembrance? (no spoilers in this thread please)

Remembrance was nothing like what I had expected - which was surprisingly good. I enjoyed the book and the magical realism. Any negative that I would have was that I thought it was just a bit long,but overall I flet it was very enjoyable and I would read more books by Rita Woods.


Reply

Please login to post a response.