Not Logged in.
Book Jacket

Remembrance


A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground ...
More about this book

What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

Created: 02/15/20

Replies: 9

Posted Feb. 15, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
davinamw

Join Date: 10/15/10

Posts: 2619

What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you think fiction can help us understand more about actual historical events, and if so, how? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?


Posted Feb. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
Maggie

Join Date: 01/01/16

Posts: 293

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I did not know much about the Haitian Revolution. If I was Hercule I would have joined the Maroons to free myself and my family. No one should be a slave. I enjoy historical fiction because I do learn.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
swchis39

Join Date: 09/26/12

Posts: 113

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I was unaware of the Haitian Revolution. Unfortunately we do not learn from the past and find ourselves repeating history.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
alycet

Join Date: 04/23/12

Posts: 160

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I did not know anything about the Haitian Revolution before this. I was surprised how it mirrored the US.


Posted Feb. 24, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
beverlyj

Join Date: 12/22/11

Posts: 102

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

Yes, I knew about the Haitian Revolution before reading this novel.

Yes, throughout the novel, we see enslaved and free blacks fighting for freedom, liberty and equality despite any setups that would happen and the retaliation and violence that would be experienced against themselves and their families.

Yes, If I was Hercule I would have become a Maroon.


Posted Feb. 25, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
ruthiea

Join Date: 02/03/14

Posts: 190

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I knew a little, but this was my favorite part of the book - learning more! I believe that the slaves were extremely courageous as they knew they would probably face death - even if they killed every white person; where would they go to be safe? How could they defend an Island? At a certain point a person can gather up the courage and fight, because they know that anything is better than the status quo. I hope I would be brave enough to become a Maroon!


Posted Feb. 26, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
sallyh

Join Date: 09/07/12

Posts: 112

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I knew virtually nothing about the Haitian Revolution before reading Remembrance. I would like to think that I would have become a Maroon in Hercule's shoes. Sadly, history always repeats itself, because humanity does not seem to learn from it.


Posted Feb. 27, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
dorothyh

Join Date: 01/23/15

Posts: 168

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

Did not know about the revolution. There continues to be those that are enslaved some where in the world. We don't seem to learn from the past. I would like to think Id be a Maroon.


Posted Mar. 14, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
dianaps

Join Date: 05/29/15

Posts: 460

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I was not familiar with the Haitian Revolution or the Maroons before I read this book.


Posted Mar. 22, 2020 Go to Top | Go to bottom | link | alert
taking.mytime's Gravatar
taking.mytime

Join Date: 03/29/16

Posts: 261

RE: What did you know about the Haitian Revolution before reading the novel? If you were Hercule, would you have become a maroon? Do you see history repeating itself, either within the novel or in the world today?

I knew nothing about the Haitian Revolt. Being a single man I believe that I may have joined the Maroons - knowing that I would never be truly free, it would be better to fight for freedom than languish a slave. There are many countries fighting for their freedom. Iraqis, Afghans, Syrians and many places in Africa are fighting for freedom from being controlled. Muslim woman are fighting for freedom. There are many oppressed populations in our world today.


Reply

Please login to post a response.