Dr Richard Carlson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr Richard Carlson

Dr Richard Carlson

Dr Richard Carlson Biography

Dr. Richard Carlson died of a cardiac arrest at the age of 45 in December 2006 while in flight from San Francisco to New York where he was scheduled to make two TV appearances for his latest book Don't Get Scrooged: How to Thrive in a World Full of Obnoxious, Incompetent, Arrogant and Downright Mean-Spirited People.  He is survived by his wife, Kris and his two daughters Jasmine and Kenna. 

As the author of Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and at least 20 other titles, he is considered one of the foremost experts on happiness and stress reduction in the United States and around the world. Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff made publishing history as the USA Today’s #1 bestselling book for two consecutive years. The title spent over one hundred consecutive weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, and is considered one of the fastest selling books of all time. In 2004, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff was voted one of the top ten most read books in the past decade.

His message proved phenomenally popular, with Don't Sweat the Small Stuff published in at least 135 countries and translated into Latvian, Polish, Icelandic, Serbian and 26 other languages.  In all, there are at least 26 million of his books in print.  

He grew up in Piedmont and received his undergraduate degree from Pepperdine University.   He practiced meditation but was not a conspicuous religious seeker.  He was a generous supporter of charities, donating much of his book profits.  He was a key supporter of the National Center for Family Literacy and, at the time of his death, was working on a project with them calling for "A Penny a Book" from publishers, authors and literary agents to promote literacy.



This bio was last updated on 12/17/2006. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr Richard Carlson at BookBrowse
An Hour to Live, an Hour to Love jacket Scrooged jacket Easier Than You Think Because Life Doesn't Have To Be So Hard jacket Don't Sweat The Small Stuff jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr Richard Carlson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Oriah Mountain Dreamer

    Oriah Mountain Dreamer

    Oriah Mountain Dreamer is the author of the inspirational prose-poems and several international best-selling books on personal spirituality. She leads workshops, ceremonies, and retreats through the United States and Canada,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Don't Sweat The Small Stuff

    Try:
    The Invitation
    by Oriah Mountain Dreamer

  • Dr Phillip McGraw

    Dr Phillip McGraw

    Phillip Calvin "Phil" McGraw has the second highest-rated daytime talk show in the U.S.A, Dr. Phil. He is also the author of several New York Times bestsellers. Dr. Phil first gained celebrity status with appearances on The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Don't Sweat The Small Stuff

    Try:
    Self Matters
    by Dr Phillip McGraw

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko
    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy blue...
  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -