Dr Richard Carlson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr Richard Carlson

Dr Richard Carlson

Dr Richard Carlson Biography

Dr. Richard Carlson died of a cardiac arrest at the age of 45 in December 2006 while in flight from San Francisco to New York where he was scheduled to make two TV appearances for his latest book Don't Get Scrooged: How to Thrive in a World Full of Obnoxious, Incompetent, Arrogant and Downright Mean-Spirited People.  He is survived by his wife, Kris and his two daughters Jasmine and Kenna. 

As the author of Don't Sweat the Small Stuff and at least 20 other titles, he is considered one of the foremost experts on happiness and stress reduction in the United States and around the world. Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff made publishing history as the USA Today’s #1 bestselling book for two consecutive years. The title spent over one hundred consecutive weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, and is considered one of the fastest selling books of all time. In 2004, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff was voted one of the top ten most read books in the past decade.

His message proved phenomenally popular, with Don't Sweat the Small Stuff published in at least 135 countries and translated into Latvian, Polish, Icelandic, Serbian and 26 other languages.  In all, there are at least 26 million of his books in print.  

He grew up in Piedmont and received his undergraduate degree from Pepperdine University.   He practiced meditation but was not a conspicuous religious seeker.  He was a generous supporter of charities, donating much of his book profits.  He was a key supporter of the National Center for Family Literacy and, at the time of his death, was working on a project with them calling for "A Penny a Book" from publishers, authors and literary agents to promote literacy.



This bio was last updated on 12/17/2006. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr Richard Carlson at BookBrowse
An Hour to Live, an Hour to Love jacket Scrooged jacket Easier Than You Think Because Life Doesn't Have To Be So Hard jacket Don't Sweat The Small Stuff jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr Richard Carlson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Oriah Mountain Dreamer

    Oriah Mountain Dreamer

    Oriah Mountain Dreamer is the author of the inspirational prose-poems and several international best-selling books on personal spirituality. She leads workshops, ceremonies, and retreats through the United States and Canada,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Don't Sweat The Small Stuff

    Try:
    The Invitation
    by Oriah Mountain Dreamer

  • Dr Phillip McGraw

    Dr Phillip McGraw

    Phillip Calvin "Phil" McGraw has the second highest-rated daytime talk show in the U.S.A, Dr. Phil. He is also the author of several New York Times bestsellers. Dr. Phil first gained celebrity status with appearances on The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Don't Sweat The Small Stuff

    Try:
    Self Matters
    by Dr Phillip McGraw

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Prophet
    by Michael Koryta
    Hot diggity! How can you lose by reading a gritty whodunit about football, even if you're not a ...
  • Book Jacket: Dog Flowers
    Dog Flowers
    by Danielle Geller
    In Dog Flowers, Danielle Geller tells us what is wrong with her family: heavy drinking, abandonment,...
  • Book Jacket: The Sea Gate
    The Sea Gate
    by Jane Johnson
    In Jane Johnson's novel, The Sea Gate, set in England, readers are introduced to Becky, a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from Suffragette City
    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose, Fiona Davis
    Our First Impressions readers were fascinated by the historical fiction from a range of authors ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Narrowboat Summer
    by Anne Youngson

    From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    At the Edge of the Haight
    by Katherine Seligman

    Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Moment of Lift
by Melinda Gates
How can we summon a moment of lift for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity.
Who Said...

Choose an author as you would a friend

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T M T C, T M T Stay T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.