Gavin Weightman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Gavin Weightman

Gavin Weightman

Gavin Weightman Biography

Gavin Weightman is an author and film-maker best known for a series of documentaries and accompanying books made while he worked at London Weekend Television. These include two series of The Making of Modern London, City Safari, Brave New Wilderness, London River and Bright Lights, Big City all of which he produced, directed, wrote and narrated. He began work as a journalist on local newspapers before taking a degree in Sociology at London University. On New Society magazine he was a feature writer and he has written for History Today and national newspapers. He has made many contributions to documentary series on both radio and ITV. For two years he was the presenter of The London Programme.

For several years he ran his own Independent television production company making the very successful series Rescue for Channel 4, a commemoration of VE Day A Taste of Victory and a history of post-war restaurants Dining Out for IT. As a freelance producer-director he made a history of Channel 4, Storm Over 4 and history of football rivalry between England and Scotland.

Recently he has concentrated on writing. The Frozen Water Trade (2002) on the American natural ice and Signor Marconi's Magic Box (2003) on the early days of wireless were both published in the UK and the US. His other books are The Industrial Revolutionaries about the spread of industrial society around the world from eighteenth century England and a new, omnibus edition of The Making of Modern London covering the period from 1815 to the present day. Also his most recent work, Eureka: How Inventions Happen. From time to time he has lectured on London history in the Continuing Education Department of Birkbeck College, London University.

Gavin Weightman's website

This bio was last updated on 08/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Gavin Weightman at BookBrowse
The Frozen Water Trade jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Gavin Weightman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Barbara Freese

    Barbara Freese

    Barbara Freese is an Assistant Attorney General of Minnesota. She is known for her debut Coal: A Human History.

    Freese not only helped enforce her state's environmental laws but also became fascinated by the very substance ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Frozen Water Trade

    Try:
    Coal
    by Barbara Freese

  • Tom Jackson

    Tom Jackson

    Tom Jackson is a science writer who specializes in recasting science and technology into lively historical narratives, told through the deeds of the people that discovered them. In his time, Tom has been a zoo keeper, travel... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Frozen Water Trade

    Try:
    Chilled
    by Tom Jackson

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Ninth Hour
    The Ninth Hour
    by Alice McDermott
    In a pivotal scene in The Ninth Hour, young Sally encounters an increasingly loathsome series of ...
  • Book Jacket: Rebellion
    Rebellion
    by Molly Patterson
    Rebellion overlays the stories of four women, spanning a century and the globe in their wide ...
  • Book Jacket: Genuine Fraud
    Genuine Fraud
    by E Lockhart
    Do we ever really know who our friends are? Or what the truth is? After all, truth, like beauty is ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Twelve-Mile Straight
    by Eleanor Henderson

    An audacious epic set in rural Georgia during the years of the Depression and Prohibition.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Love and Other Consolation Prizes
    by Jamie Ford

    Inspired by a true story, about a boy whose life is transformed at Seattle's epic 1909 World's Fair.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If the Creek Don't Rise

If the Creek Don't Rise

A debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Y Can't M A S P O O A S E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.