Gavin Weightman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Gavin Weightman

Gavin Weightman

Gavin Weightman Biography

Gavin Weightman is an author and film-maker best known for a series of documentaries and accompanying books made while he worked at London Weekend Television. These include two series of The Making of Modern London, City Safari, Brave New Wilderness, London River and Bright Lights, Big City all of which he produced, directed, wrote and narrated. He began work as a journalist on local newspapers before taking a degree in Sociology at London University. On New Society magazine he was a feature writer and he has written for History Today and national newspapers. He has made many contributions to documentary series on both radio and ITV. For two years he was the presenter of The London Programme.

For several years he ran his own Independent television production company making the very successful series Rescue for Channel 4, a commemoration of VE Day A Taste of Victory and a history of post-war restaurants Dining Out for IT. As a freelance producer-director he made a history of Channel 4, Storm Over 4 and history of football rivalry between England and Scotland.

Recently he has concentrated on writing. The Frozen Water Trade (2002) on the American natural ice and Signor Marconi's Magic Box (2003) on the early days of wireless were both published in the UK and the US. His other books are The Industrial Revolutionaries about the spread of industrial society around the world from eighteenth century England and a new, omnibus edition of The Making of Modern London covering the period from 1815 to the present day. Also his most recent work, Eureka: How Inventions Happen. From time to time he has lectured on London history in the Continuing Education Department of Birkbeck College, London University.

Gavin Weightman's website

This bio was last updated on 08/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Gavin Weightman at BookBrowse
The Frozen Water Trade jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Gavin Weightman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Barbara Freese

    Barbara Freese

    Barbara Freese is an Assistant Attorney General of Minnesota. She is known for her debut Coal: A Human History.

    Freese not only helped enforce her state's environmental laws but also became fascinated by the very substance ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Frozen Water Trade

    Try:
    Coal
    by Barbara Freese

  • Tom Jackson

    Tom Jackson

    Tom Jackson is a science writer who specializes in recasting science and technology into lively historical narratives, told through the deeds of the people that discovered them. In his time, Tom has been a zoo keeper, travel... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Frozen Water Trade

    Try:
    Chilled
    by Tom Jackson

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Art of the Wasted Day
    The Art of the Wasted Day
    by Patricia Hampl
    Patricia Hampl wants you to know that daydreaming is not a waste of a day. Nor is spending time ...
  • Book Jacket: Circe
    Circe
    by Madeline Miller
    Towards the end of Madeline Miller's novel Circe, the titular nymph is questioned by her son ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Names They Used for God
    All the Names They Used for God
    by Anjali Sachdeva
    Pre-publication press has already compared Anjali Sachdeva to Kelly Link and other genre-blending ...
  • Book Jacket: Look Alive Out There
    Look Alive Out There
    by Sloane Crosley
    After a brief (and thoroughly enjoyable) foray into fiction (with her 2015 novel The Clasp), Sloane ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Other People's Houses
    by Abbi Waxman

    A hilarious and poignant novel about four families and the affair that changes everything.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Leavers

The Leavers by Lisa Ko

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--now in paperback!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T E H N Clothes

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.