MLA Gold Award Site

Anthony A. Goodman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Anthony A. Goodman

Anthony A. Goodman

Anthony A. Goodman Biography

Anthony A. Goodman, M.D, F.A.C.S., is an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Montana State University WWAMI Medical Sciences Program and an Affiliate Professor in the Department of Biological Structure at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He earned his B.A. from Harvard College, and his M.D. from Cornell Medical College. For over 20 years, he has worked as a general surgeon as well as a surgeon with the U.S. Army Medical Corps during the Vietnam War, and on the hospital ship, Project H.O.P.E. Goodman currently teaches surgical anatomy to medical students at Montana State University, develops lecture series for The Great Courses, and writes historical fiction.

Founder of the Broward Surgical Society, Dr. Goodman is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a Diplomate of the National Board of Medical Examiners and the American Board of Surgery.

Dr. Goodman is a lecturer for The Great Courses, Chantilly, VA, selected from the top 1% of professors in America. His courses include "Understanding the Human Body: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology," "The Human Body: How We Fail, How We Heal," "Lifelong Health: Achieving Optimum Well-Being at Any Age," and "The Myths of Nutrition and Fitness."

Dr. Goodman is the author of the historical fiction novels, None But The Brave: A Novel of the Surgeons of World War II(2012) and The Shadow of God (2002). The Shadow of God was published in six languages worldwide and won great acclaim from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. A specialist in the surgical treatment of cancer, he is also the author of the non-fiction book, Never Say Die: Doctor and Patient Talk About Breast Cancer. He has appeared on national and regional television, including C-Span Book TV, Good Morning America, Montana PBS, and national and regional radio to discuss medical issues and the role of history in fiction.

Anthony Goodman's website

This bio was last updated on 01/15/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anthony A. Goodman at BookBrowse
The Shadow of God jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anthony A. Goodman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell was born (in 1944) and brought up in Britain, where he worked in the British Broadcasting Centre (BBC), ending up as Head of Current Affairs TV for the BBC in Northern Ireland. While working in Belfast... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow of God

    Try:
    Heretic
    by Bernard Cornwell

  • Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernières is a British novelist. He is most famous for his fourth novel, Captain Corelli's Mandolin.

    In 1993 de Bernières was selected as one of the "20 Best of Young British Novelists", part of a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow of God

    Try:
    Birds Without Wings
    by Louis de Bernieres

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

"A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail, perfect." - The Sunday Mirror (UK)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk
    by Kathleen Rooney

    "Effervescent with verve, wit, and heart" - Booklist, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win No Man's Land

No Man's Land
by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I.

Enter

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Question of Mercy
    A Question of Mercy
    by Elizabeth Cox
    Authors leave little gifts for readers, which seem to turn up at the exact right moment. Perhaps a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Terranauts
    The Terranauts
    by T.C. Boyle
    In an increasingly noisy and fractious world, the idea of "getting away from it all" holds ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Gardens of Consolation
    by Parisa Reza
    The Gardens of Consolation introduces 12-year-old Talla, and her 20-year-old husband Sadar, as they ...

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H W S W T Devil S H A L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.