Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Anthony A. Goodman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Anthony A. Goodman

Anthony A. Goodman

Anthony A. Goodman Biography

Anthony A. Goodman, M.D, F.A.C.S., is an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Montana State University WWAMI Medical Sciences Program and an Affiliate Professor in the Department of Biological Structure at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He earned his B.A. from Harvard College, and his M.D. from Cornell Medical College. For over 20 years, he has worked as a general surgeon as well as a surgeon with the U.S. Army Medical Corps during the Vietnam War, and on the hospital ship, Project H.O.P.E. Goodman currently teaches surgical anatomy to medical students at Montana State University, develops lecture series for The Great Courses, and writes historical fiction.

Founder of the Broward Surgical Society, Dr. Goodman is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a Diplomate of the National Board of Medical Examiners and the American Board of Surgery.

Dr. Goodman is a lecturer for The Great Courses, Chantilly, VA, selected from the top 1% of professors in America. His courses include "Understanding the Human Body: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology," "The Human Body: How We Fail, How We Heal," "Lifelong Health: Achieving Optimum Well-Being at Any Age," and "The Myths of Nutrition and Fitness."

Dr. Goodman is the author of the historical fiction novels, None But The Brave: A Novel of the Surgeons of World War II(2012) and The Shadow of God (2002). The Shadow of God was published in six languages worldwide and won great acclaim from Publishers Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. A specialist in the surgical treatment of cancer, he is also the author of the non-fiction book, Never Say Die: Doctor and Patient Talk About Breast Cancer. He has appeared on national and regional television, including C-Span Book TV, Good Morning America, Montana PBS, and national and regional radio to discuss medical issues and the role of history in fiction.

Anthony A. Goodman's website

This bio was last updated on 01/15/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anthony A. Goodman at BookBrowse
The Shadow of God jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Anthony A. Goodman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell

    Bernard Cornwell was born in London in 1944 – a 'warbaby' – whose father was a Canadian airman and mother in Britain's Women's Auxiliary Air Force.

    He was adopted by a family in Essex who belonged to a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow of God

    Try:
    Heretic
    by Bernard Cornwell

  • Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernieres

    Louis de Bernières works include A Partisan's Daughter, Birds Without Wings, Red Dog, Sunday Morning at the Centre of the World, Corelli's Mandolin (Commonwealth Writers' Prize, Best Book, 1995), The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow of God

    Try:
    Birds Without Wings
    by Louis de Bernieres

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.