Dr. JoAnn Deak biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr. JoAnn Deak
www.deakgroup.com

Dr. JoAnn Deak

Dr. JoAnn Deak Biography

JoAnn Deak, Ph.D., is an international speaker, educator, and school psychologist. She has spent more than 30 years helping children develop into confident and competent adults. She is a consultant to schools worldwide on issues of brain development, gender equity, and optimal learning environments for boys and girls.

She is the author of How Girls Thrive, Girls Will Be Girls: Raising Confident and Courageous Daughters, Your Fantastic Elastic Brain, and The Drivers Manual for Your Adolescent Brain. She has contributed towards What I Wish You Knew: Letters from Our Daughters Lives, and Expert Advice on Staying Connected, Instructors Guide to Managing Adolescents in the Field and Raising an American Girl: Parenting Advice.

Dr. JoAnn Deak's website

This bio was last updated on 11/20/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Enjoy an edited chat transcription with JoAnn Deak, in which she discusses issues related to the raising of teenage girls.

Reproduced by permission of WrittenVoices.com.


birdlady33 : Where do parents draw the line when trying to introduce/suggest new activities/interests to children? When do they reach the point where children begin to perceive the suggestion as pressure?

JoAnn Deak : As long as it isn't pressure...

JoAnn Deak : It's all in the quantity of times you say it and your tone of voice.

birdlady33 : So suggest it once and then let it go?

sam : But sometimes the pressure comes from school and other parents

JoAnn Deak : It's important to 'taste' several things when you're young

Rusty : JoAnn, should you treat a girl who is particularly tomboyish any special way? Encourage/discourage her interests in boyish types ofplay?

Leslie : Do you basically feel your child be the guide for your parenting?

JoAnn Deak : but not eat everything on the smorgasbord!

Leslie : Can the parents be too soft though?

JoAnn Deak : Have you read the teeter totter theory of parenting.

birdlady33 : or end up being doormats?

sam : no, can you tell us about it?

Leslie : What is that theory?

JoAnn Deak : Health is in the middle...

JoAnn Deak : Not too soft, not too tough

cornelius : You talk about losing your father and the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr. JoAnn Deak at BookBrowse
Girls Will Be Girls jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr. JoAnn Deak but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Amy Chua

    Amy Chua

    Amy Chua is the John M. Duff Professor of Law at Yale Law School. Her first book, World on Fire: How Exporting Free Market Democracy Breeds Ethnic Hatred and Global Instability, a New York Times bestseller, was selected by ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Girls Will Be Girls

    Try:
    Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
    by Amy Chua

  • Michael Gurian

    Michael Gurian

    Michael Gurian is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty five books published in twenty one languages. He provides counseling services at the Marycliff Center, in Spokane, Washington. The Gurian Institute, which he ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Girls Will Be Girls

    Try:
    The Wonder of Girls
    by Michael Gurian

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Poet's House
    The Poet's House
    by Jean Thompson
    Seasoned author Jean Thompson's previous novels include A Cloud in the Shape of a Girl, The Humanity...
  • Book Jacket
    Some of It Was Real
    by Nan Fischer
    Nan Fischer is an Oregon Book Award finalist for her previous novels When Elephants Fly and The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Most Precious Substance on Earth
    The Most Precious Substance on Earth
    by Shashi Bhat
    Think of all the worst parts of puberty — all the moments you partially miss or brood about ...
  • Book Jacket
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
All the Lonely People
by Mike Gayle
A cozy novel for fans of A Man Called Ove. A widowed retiree will rediscover the world he’s turned his back on.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Dirt Creek
    by Hayley Scrivenor

    "A heart-wrenching mystery, Scrivenor's remarkable sense of place brings Dirt Creek to life. A stellar debut."
    —Jane Harper,

  • Book Jacket

    Widowland
    by C. J. Carey

    A thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternate 1950s Britain under the control of the Third Reich.

Who Said...

The library is the temple of learning, and learning has liberated more people than all the wars in history

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wishes W H B W R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.