Dr. JoAnn Deak biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr. JoAnn Deak
www.deakgroup.com

Dr. JoAnn Deak

Dr. JoAnn Deak Biography

JoAnn Deak, Ph.D., is an international speaker, educator, and school psychologist. She has spent more than 30 years helping children develop into confident and competent adults. She is a consultant to schools worldwide on issues of brain development, gender equity, and optimal learning environments for boys and girls.

She is the author of How Girls Thrive, Girls Will Be Girls: Raising Confident and Courageous Daughters, Your Fantastic Elastic Brain, and The Drivers Manual for Your Adolescent Brain. She has contributed towards What I Wish You Knew: Letters from Our Daughters Lives, and Expert Advice on Staying Connected, Instructors Guide to Managing Adolescents in the Field and Raising an American Girl: Parenting Advice.

Dr. JoAnn Deak's website

This bio was last updated on 11/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Enjoy an edited chat transcription with JoAnn Deak, in which she discusses issues related to the raising of teenage girls.

Reproduced by permission of WrittenVoices.com.


birdlady33 : Where do parents draw the line when trying to introduce/suggest new activities/interests to children? When do they reach the point where children begin to perceive the suggestion as pressure?

JoAnn Deak : As long as it isn't pressure...

JoAnn Deak : It's all in the quantity of times you say it and your tone of voice.

birdlady33 : So suggest it once and then let it go?

sam : But sometimes the pressure comes from school and other parents

JoAnn Deak : It's important to 'taste' several things when you're young

Rusty : JoAnn, should you treat a girl who is particularly tomboyish any special way? Encourage/discourage her interests in boyish types ofplay?

Leslie : Do you basically feel your child be the guide for your parenting?

JoAnn Deak : but not eat everything on the smorgasbord!

Leslie : Can the parents be too soft though?

JoAnn Deak : Have you read the teeter totter theory of parenting.

birdlady33 : or end up being doormats?

sam : no, can you tell us about it?

Leslie : What is that theory?

JoAnn Deak : Health is in the middle...

JoAnn Deak : Not too soft, not too tough

cornelius : You talk about losing your father and the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr. JoAnn Deak at BookBrowse
Girls Will Be Girls jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr. JoAnn Deak but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Amy Chua

    Amy Chua

    Amy Chua is the John M. Duff Professor of Law at Yale Law School. Her first book, World on Fire: How Exporting Free Market Democracy Breeds Ethnic Hatred and Global Instability, a New York Times bestseller, was selected by ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Girls Will Be Girls

    Try:
    Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
    by Amy Chua

  • Michael Gurian

    Michael Gurian

    Michael Gurian is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty five books published in twenty one languages. He provides counseling services at the Marycliff Center, in Spokane, Washington. The Gurian Institute, which he ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Girls Will Be Girls

    Try:
    The Wonder of Girls
    by Michael Gurian

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Prophet
    by Michael Koryta
    Hot diggity! How can you lose by reading a gritty whodunit about football, even if you're not a ...
  • Book Jacket: Dog Flowers
    Dog Flowers
    by Danielle Geller
    In Dog Flowers, Danielle Geller tells us what is wrong with her family: heavy drinking, abandonment,...
  • Book Jacket: The Sea Gate
    The Sea Gate
    by Jane Johnson
    In Jane Johnson's novel, The Sea Gate, set in England, readers are introduced to Becky, a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from Suffragette City
    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose, Fiona Davis
    Our First Impressions readers were fascinated by the historical fiction from a range of authors ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    At the Edge of the Haight
    by Katherine Seligman

    Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Narrowboat Summer
    by Anne Youngson

    From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Moment of Lift
by Melinda Gates
How can we summon a moment of lift for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity.
Who Said...

Talent hits a target no one else can hit; Genius hits a target no one else can see.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T M T C, T M T Stay T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.