Dr. JoAnn Deak biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr. JoAnn Deak
www.deakgroup.com

Dr. JoAnn Deak

Dr. JoAnn Deak Biography

JoAnn Deak, Ph.D., is an international speaker, educator, and school psychologist. She has spent more than 30 years helping children develop into confident and competent adults. She is a consultant to schools worldwide on issues of brain development, gender equity, and optimal learning environments for boys and girls.

She is the author of How Girls Thrive, Girls Will Be Girls: Raising Confident and Courageous Daughters, Your Fantastic Elastic Brain, and The Drivers Manual for Your Adolescent Brain. She has contributed towards What I Wish You Knew: Letters from Our Daughters Lives, and Expert Advice on Staying Connected, Instructors Guide to Managing Adolescents in the Field and Raising an American Girl: Parenting Advice.

Dr. JoAnn Deak's website

This bio was last updated on 11/20/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Enjoy an edited chat transcription with JoAnn Deak, in which she discusses issues related to the raising of teenage girls.

Reproduced by permission of WrittenVoices.com.


birdlady33 : Where do parents draw the line when trying to introduce/suggest new activities/interests to children? When do they reach the point where children begin to perceive the suggestion as pressure?

JoAnn Deak : As long as it isn't pressure...

JoAnn Deak : It's all in the quantity of times you say it and your tone of voice.

birdlady33 : So suggest it once and then let it go?

sam : But sometimes the pressure comes from school and other parents

JoAnn Deak : It's important to 'taste' several things when you're young

Rusty : JoAnn, should you treat a girl who is particularly tomboyish any special way? Encourage/discourage her interests in boyish types ofplay?

Leslie : Do you basically feel your child be the guide for your parenting?

JoAnn Deak : but not eat everything on the smorgasbord!

Leslie : Can the parents be too soft though?

JoAnn Deak : Have you read the teeter totter theory of parenting.

birdlady33 : or end up being doormats?

sam : no, can you tell us about it?

Leslie : What is that theory?

JoAnn Deak : Health is in the middle...

JoAnn Deak : Not too soft, not too tough

cornelius : You talk about losing your father and the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr. JoAnn Deak at BookBrowse
Girls Will Be Girls jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr. JoAnn Deak but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Amy Chua

    Amy Chua

    Amy Chua is the John M. Duff Professor of Law at Yale Law School. Her first book, World on Fire: How Exporting Free Market Democracy Breeds Ethnic Hatred and Global Instability, a New York Times bestseller, was selected by ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Girls Will Be Girls

    Try:
    Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
    by Amy Chua

  • Michael Gurian

    Michael Gurian

    Michael Gurian is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty five books published in twenty one languages. He provides counseling services at the Marycliff Center, in Spokane, Washington. The Gurian Institute, which he ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Girls Will Be Girls

    Try:
    The Wonder of Girls
    by Michael Gurian

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...
  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

"Electrifying . . . as beautiful and as icy as the Minnesota woods where it's set."
—NPR

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Story of Arthur Truluv
    by Elizabeth Berg

    An emotionally powerful novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.