We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Teresa Barker biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Author Image Not Available

Teresa Barker

Teresa Barker Biography

Teresa Barker is a veteran journalist and book writer, whose collaborations include the New York Times bestseller The Big Disconnect: Protecting Childhood and Family Relationships in the Digital Age, with Catherine Steiner-Adair, EdD (HarperCollins 2013), Raising Cain: Protecting the Emotional Lives of Boys (Ballantine 1999) with Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D., and Dan Kindlon, Ph.D.; In the Moment: Celebrating the Everyday, a Literary Guild Holiday Featured Selection with Harvey L. Rich, MD (HarperCollins 2002); Girls Will Be Girls: Raising Confident, Courageous Daughters, a USA Today Top Summer Reading choice, with JoAnn Deak, Ph.D. (Hyperion 2002); Speaking of Boys: Answers to the Most-Asked Questions About Raising Boys (Ballantine 2000) by Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D.; The Creative Age: Awakening Human Potential in the Second Half of Life (Avon 2000), by Gene Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., founding director of the national Center on Aging, and The Mother-Daughter Book Club: How Ten Busy Mothers and Daughters Came Together to Talk, Laugh and Learn Through Their Love of Reading (HarperCollins 1997) by Shireen Dodson, former assistant director of the Smithsonian Institution's Center for African American History. Also, The Soul of Money: Transforming Your Relationship with Money and Life with Lynne Twist (W.W. Norton September 2003) and The Pressured Child: Helping Your Child Find Success in School and Life with Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D. (Ballantine Fall 2004).

Prior to becoming a book writer, Barker's journalism career included work as a feature writer, general news reporter and beat reporter, at different times specializing in health, education, legal affairs and family issues. In Chicago since 1983, she previously was on staff or worked as a regular contributor at the Chicago Tribune, the Chicago Sun-Times, Time and Advertising Age. Before moving to Chicago she was as a staff reporter for the Eugene (Ore.) Register-Guard, the Dubuque (Iowa) Telegraph-Herald, the Nashville Tennessean and the Memphis Commercial Appeal. For nearly a decade, she was the writer of the nationally syndicated women's health newsletter Regarding Women and Healthcare. Early in her career, Barker was an advertising copywriter in Nashville, and occasionally continues to serve as an editorial and creative consultant to corporate and not-for-profit clients.

Barker graduated from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville in 1979, where she was editor of the university daily. Barker is married and lives with her husband and children in the Chicago area.



This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Teresa Barker at BookBrowse
Girls Will Be Girls jacket The Mother-Daughter Book Club jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Teresa Barker but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.