Teresa Barker biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Teresa Barker

Teresa Barker Biography

Teresa Barker is a veteran journalist and book writer, whose collaborations include the New York Times bestseller The Big Disconnect: Protecting Childhood and Family Relationships in the Digital Age, with Catherine Steiner-Adair, EdD (HarperCollins 2013), Raising Cain: Protecting the Emotional Lives of Boys (Ballantine 1999) with Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D., and Dan Kindlon, Ph.D.; In the Moment: Celebrating the Everyday, a Literary Guild Holiday Featured Selection with Harvey L. Rich, MD (HarperCollins 2002); Girls Will Be Girls: Raising Confident, Courageous Daughters, a USA Today Top Summer Reading choice, with JoAnn Deak, Ph.D. (Hyperion 2002); Speaking of Boys: Answers to the Most-Asked Questions About Raising Boys (Ballantine 2000) by Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D.; The Creative Age: Awakening Human Potential in the Second Half of Life (Avon 2000), by Gene Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., founding director of the national Center on Aging, and The Mother-Daughter Book Club: How Ten Busy Mothers and Daughters Came Together to Talk, Laugh and Learn Through Their Love of Reading (HarperCollins 1997) by Shireen Dodson, former assistant director of the Smithsonian Institution's Center for African American History. Also, The Soul of Money: Transforming Your Relationship with Money and Life with Lynne Twist (W.W. Norton September 2003) and The Pressured Child: Helping Your Child Find Success in School and Life with Michael G. Thompson, Ph.D. (Ballantine Fall 2004).

Prior to becoming a book writer, Barker's journalism career included work as a feature writer, general news reporter and beat reporter, at different times specializing in health, education, legal affairs and family issues. In Chicago since 1983, she previously was on staff or worked as a regular contributor at the Chicago Tribune, the Chicago Sun-Times, Time and Advertising Age. Before moving to Chicago she was as a staff reporter for the Eugene (Ore.) Register-Guard, the Dubuque (Iowa) Telegraph-Herald, the Nashville Tennessean and the Memphis Commercial Appeal. For nearly a decade, she was the writer of the nationally syndicated women's health newsletter Regarding Women and Healthcare. Early in her career, Barker was an advertising copywriter in Nashville, and occasionally continues to serve as an editorial and creative consultant to corporate and not-for-profit clients.

Barker graduated from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville in 1979, where she was editor of the university daily. Barker is married and lives with her husband and children in the Chicago area.

This biography was last updated on 11/11/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Teresa Barker at BookBrowse
Girls Will Be Girls jacket The Mother-Daughter Book Club jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Teresa Barker but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Do No Harm
    by Henry Marsh
    British neurosurgeon Henry Marsh might already be familiar as the subject of the Emmy-winning ...
  • Book Jacket: Everybody's Fool
    Everybody's Fool
    by Richard Russo
    Written from multiple viewpoints, Everybody's Fool features an ensemble cast of inhabitants ...
  • Book Jacket: The Strings of Murder
    The Strings of Murder
    by Oscar de Muriel
    As Jack the Ripper eludes the police at Scotland Yard in London and all efforts to catch the most ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Since She Went Away
    by David Bell

    A chilling novel of guilt, regret, and a past which refuses to die...

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    A Certain Age
    by Beatriz Williams

    The Roaring Twenties comes to life in this tale of intrigue, romance, and scandal.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

C To T Q

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.