Shireen Dodson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Shireen Dodson
International Multicultural Institute

Shireen Dodson

Shireen Dodson Biography

Shireen L. Dodson is the Ombudsman for the United States Department of State (DOS). Dodson not only assists department managers and employees to resolve conflict arising in the workplace, she advises the Secretary of State and senior department executives and managers on workplace conflict trends, conflict prevention opportunities and options to achieve cost-effective and timely conflict resolution. Formerly Special Assistant to the Director, Office of Civil Rights and Chief Diversity Officer at DOS, Dodson has over 30 years experience working with non-profits, corporate America, government, and is also a trained mediator.

She earned her Bachelor of Science Degree from Morgan State University, Baltimore, Maryland and her Juris Doctorate from Seton Hall Law School, Newark, New Jersey. Dodson is also a Cornell University's School of Industrial and Labor Relations Certified Diversity Professional (CCDP).

Dodson is an active member of the Coalition of Federal Ombudsman and serves on the boards of Executive Women in Government and the International Multicultural Institute.

Dodson is the author of The Mother-Daughter Book Club How Ten Busy Mothers and Daughters Came Together To Talk, Laugh and Learn Through Their Love of Reading (April 1997, March 2001 Tenth Anniversary Edition, Harper Collins) and 100 Books for Girls to Grow On (September 1998, Harper Collins). 100 Books For Girls To Grow On was nominated for a 1998 NAACP IMAGE AWARD - Outstanding Literary Work, Children's.



This bio was last updated on 10/26/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Shireen Dodson at BookBrowse
The Mother-Daughter Book Club jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Shireen Dodson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: That Time I Loved You
    That Time I Loved You
    by Carianne Leung
    Carrianne Leung was a Toronto Book Award finalist for That Time I Loved You as well as for her debut...
  • Book Jacket: The Pianist from Syria
    The Pianist from Syria
    by Aeham Ahmad
    Aeham Ahmad became famous as the face of Syrian suffering when a photo of him playing piano in the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Smiling Man
    The Smiling Man
    by Joseph Knox
    Joseph Knox's latest turns on a simple premise: an unidentified and unidentifiable murdered man is ...
  • Book Jacket: The Heavens
    The Heavens
    by Sandra Newman
    I've been a big fan of Sandra Newman's writing ever since reading her 2014 novel The Country of Ice ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A People's History of Heaven
    by Mathangi Subramanian

    A story of love and friendship, and fighting for the places we love.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Princess
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    Rated 4.9 stars by BookBrowse members - one of the highest scores of all time!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Summer Country

Win up to 12 copies to share with friends or your book club!

A sweeping epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D T T! Full S A!

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.