Shireen Dodson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Shireen Dodson
International Multicultural Institute

Shireen Dodson

Shireen Dodson Biography

Shireen L. Dodson is the Ombudsman for the United States Department of State (DOS). Dodson not only assists department managers and employees to resolve conflict arising in the workplace, she advises the Secretary of State and senior department executives and managers on workplace conflict trends, conflict prevention opportunities and options to achieve cost-effective and timely conflict resolution. Formerly Special Assistant to the Director, Office of Civil Rights and Chief Diversity Officer at DOS, Dodson has over 30 years experience working with non-profits, corporate America, government, and is also a trained mediator.

She earned her Bachelor of Science Degree from Morgan State University, Baltimore, Maryland and her Juris Doctorate from Seton Hall Law School, Newark, New Jersey. Dodson is also a Cornell University's School of Industrial and Labor Relations Certified Diversity Professional (CCDP).

Dodson is an active member of the Coalition of Federal Ombudsman and serves on the boards of Executive Women in Government and the International Multicultural Institute.

Dodson is the author of The Mother-Daughter Book Club How Ten Busy Mothers and Daughters Came Together To Talk, Laugh and Learn Through Their Love of Reading (April 1997, March 2001 Tenth Anniversary Edition, Harper Collins) and 100 Books for Girls to Grow On (September 1998, Harper Collins). 100 Books For Girls To Grow On was nominated for a 1998 NAACP IMAGE AWARD - Outstanding Literary Work, Children's.



This bio was last updated on 10/26/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Shireen Dodson at BookBrowse
The Mother-Daughter Book Club jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Shireen Dodson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: Bitch
    Bitch
    by Lucy Cooke
    In middle school biology class, many of us were told that men hunt and women nest, that testosterone...
  • Book Jacket: Jackie & Me
    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard
    Louis Bayard's Jackie & Me offers a fictionalized version of the early relationship between John F. ...
  • Book Jacket: The Facemaker
    The Facemaker
    by Lindsey Fitzharris
    The summer of 1914 saw the beginning of World War I, the bloody conflict known as the 'war to end ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Some of It Was Real
    by Nan Fischer

    A psychic on the verge of stardom and a cynical journalist are brought together by secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

  • Book Jacket

    Dirt Creek
    by Hayley Scrivenor

    "A heart-wrenching mystery, Scrivenor's remarkable sense of place brings Dirt Creek to life. A stellar debut."
    —Jane Harper,

Who Said...

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wishes W H B W R

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.