Summary and book reviews of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Reading Group by Patrick Sauer

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Reading Group

by Patrick Sauer

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Reading Group
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Nov 1999, 359 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Reading Group is every book lover's guide to putting together a group and having successful discussions -- or knowing where to find an existing group.

You don't have to be a talk show host to have a group that keeps everybody reading! You're no idiot, of course. You know that people across the nation are getting together, swapping ideas, and sharing their love of literature. You also know how enjoyable it is when you and a friend have read the same book and spend hours discussing it. But when it comes to actually starting or joining a reading group, you feel like you can't tell a metaphor from a simile.

Don't go on reading in solitude! The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Reading Group is every book lover's guide to putting together a group and having successful discussions -- or knowing where to find an existing group. In the Complete Idiot's Guide, you get:

  • Step-by-step guidelines for choosing participants and possible club genres: History? Women's Literature? Mysteries? The Classics?
  • a wealth of book titles and capsule descriptions in a wide array of categories to help you choose what to read.
  • Enlightened ideas for ground rules, initiating discussions, giving everyone a chance to speak, and keeping disagreements under control!
  • Fun ideas for literary parties, day trips, outings -- even meeting and discussing online!

Contents
Part 1: Reading Groups: Singles Bars for the Next Century
Part 2: Behold, the Beauty of Discussion
Part 3: Have We Got the Group for You
Part 4: Tailoring Your Group Like a Fine Suit
Part 5: My Group Wants to Party All the Time
Appendix

Note:
BookBrowse selects from the best and most popular books and features a substantial excerpt of each, usually a full chapter.

The excerptions to this rule are a handful of 'reading guide' books (including this title). In this case, BookBrowse has included the book even though an excerpt was unavailable because we feel it has a contribution to make to this relatively specialized category.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Author Blurb Ray Saurez, Senior Correspondent, The NewsHour, and author
... a potent tool for taking back the love of reading from the experts. In a clear, forthright, and often very funny way, it walks you step-by-step through the process of setting up a successful group.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Reading Group, try these:

  • The Book Group Book jacket

    The Book Group Book

    by Ellen Slezak

    Published 2000

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Seventeen new essays and 37 new book lists have been added to this classic primer on book groups. Forty-six essays describe how individual groups are organized and portray their strengths, weaknesses, and unique characters.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.