Brad Newsham biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Brad Newsham
Photo: bradnewsham.com

Brad Newsham

Brad Newsham Biography

Brad Newsham believes that the reason none of his careers--underground miner, newspaper reporter, waiter, bank secretary, and San Francisco cabbie--have lasted more than a couple years has something to do with the fact that he wandered into Afghanistan when he was twenty-two years old and made himself a promise. Take Me with You is Newsham's second book; his first, All the Right Places, is also a travel memoir. Newsham is a guest columnist for the San Francisco Chronicle and lives in Oakland, California, with his family.

Brad Newsham's website

This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Brad Newsham shares all the pertinent (and very interesting) facts about himself, as well as an extensive dialogue discussing Take Me with You and his own travels.

Tell us about yourself (e.g. personally, politically, and professionally).
I've heard it said that one should be able to tell the pertinent facts of one's life in two minutes, and I think I've got that down. I'm 48, born and raised in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. My mother is the daughter of Czech immigrants who moved to Western Pennsylvania in the early 1900s--her dad was an underground coal miner. My father was a CIA cartographer for 33 years. Both were Christian Scientists, and although I am a graduate of Principia College, a school for Christian Scientists, I don't claim a Religion - except, perhaps, reading. I have an older sister and two younger brothers scattered between D.C. and Tokyo. I've lived in ten different states and visited all 50, and I've circled the Earth four times. With one chain saw and no electricity, two friends and I built a big log cabin from scratch, sort of, near the Clark Fork River in northern Idaho twenty years ago. I'm in my second and last marriage, and my wife Rhonda and I have a three-year-old daughter, Sarah, who has completely seduced us. I've worked in restaurants, on ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Brad Newsham at BookBrowse
Take Me With You jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Brad Newsham but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Daniel Glick

    Daniel Glick

    Daniel Glick is the author of Monkey Dancing: A Father, Two Kids, and a Journey to the Ends of the Earth (2003). The book is an account of a five-month, around-the-world trip Glick took with his two children after becoming a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Take Me With You

    Try:
    Monkey Dancing
    by Daniel Glick

  • J. Maarten Troost

    J. Maarten Troost

    Travel writer J. Maarten Troost was born in 1969 in the Netherlands and is of Dutch-Czech descent. He grew up in Canada and presently lives in Washington D.C. He is the author of three books which are about his experiences ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Take Me With You

    Try:
    The Sex Lives of Cannibals
    by J. Maarten Troost

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Let It Bang
    Let It Bang
    by RJ Young
    Every interracial love story is an exercise in complications. R.J. Young and Lizzie Stafford's ...
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult
    The central premise of A Spark of Light involves a gunman holding hostages within the confines of a ...
  • Book Jacket: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    by Hank Green
    As one half of the extremely popular YouTube duo "Vlogbrothers" (the other half being his brother ...
  • Book Jacket: Waiting for Eden
    Waiting for Eden
    by Elliot Ackerman
    Elliot Ackerman's latest novel, Waiting for Eden, follows Marine Eden Malcom as his death ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Ladder to the Sky
    by John Boyne

    A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Paris Echo
    by Sebastian Faulks

    A story of resistance, complicity, and an unlikely, transformative friendship.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Strangers in Budapest

Strangers in Budapest

A couple trying to make a new life in a foreign land find themselves drawn into a cultural and generational vendetta.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Ain't O U T F L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.