Daniel Glick biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Daniel Glick

Daniel Glick

Daniel Glick Biography

Daniel Glick is the author of Monkey Dancing: A Father, Two Kids, and a Journey to the Ends of the Earth (2003). The book is an account of a five-month, around-the-world trip Glick took with his two children after becoming a single father and losing his brother to breast cancer. Their journey took them to places of great ecological wonder that are threatened by human development, including coral reefs in Australia and Bali, orangutan habitat in Borneo, and the Vietnamese jungle home of the last Javan rhinos in mainland Asia.

For the most part, Glick has been a magazine journalist, with a 13-year career at Newsweek as a Washington correspondent and a roving Rocky Mountain special correspondent. More recently, he branched out as a science editor for the 2014 U.S. National Climate Assessment; as a producer of two video series that show how climate change is already affecting the lives and livelihoods of Americans around the country; and as a private investigator turning up new leads on a 25-year old unsolved murder in Australia.

In January, 2001, Glick published Powder Burn: Arson, Money and Mystery on Vail Mountain, an investigation into the costliest act of ecoterrorism in U.S. history. While he was writing the book, Glick was awarded a Ted Scripps Fellowship at the University of Colorado, one of five journalists chosen annually to spend an academic year researching environmental law, policy and science.

He traveled from the panhandle of Idaho to the boot heel of New Mexico for Newsweek, writing about a broad range of subjects -- from the bison slaughter in Yellowstone National Park to a cover story about the possibility of life on Mars. While a Washington correspondent, he contributed to several Newsweek cover stories during the Gulf War, as well as many others -- including the San Francisco earthquake, the Hubble Space Telescope, gays in the military, and global warming. He has reported about the demise of the Siberian tiger from the Russian Far East and traveled upcountry in Haiti with U.S. Special Forces troops.

Glick has also written for more than a dozen other magazines, including Rolling Stone, The New York Times Magazine, The Washington Post Sunday Magazine, Outside, Esquire, Mens Journal, Sports Afield, National Wildlife and Wilderness.

In addition, he is also the co-founder of The Story Group, an independent, multimedia journalism company formed in 2009.

Before completing his Masters degree in journalism at the University of California at Berkeley, Glick lived in Asia for three years, teaching French and English in Japan and herding yaks in Tibet.

An avid outdoorsman experienced in climbing, hiking, skiing and kayaking, he has lived on four continents. A native Californian, Glick now lives in Colorado with his two children.

Daniel Glick's website

This bio was last updated on 08/05/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Daniel Glick  explains why he spent six months traveling to little known parts of the world with his young children, what Monkey Dancing means to him and the connection he feels between environmental issues, parenting, relationships and his own inner and outer journeys.

Daniel Glick Answers Questions

A lot of friends thought I had lost my mind when I announced plans to drag my two kids around the world for nearly half a year. Maybe I had. But after my ex-wife moved 1,000 miles away to live with her new girlfriend and my brother died of cancer, I imagined that a heroic adventure might bring some clarity and healing to my otherwise shaky existence. It wasn't as if I thought we could escape our losses by going to Borneo. But it was arguably a little more distracting to obsess about pythons and leeches than it was to stay home watching Grounded for Life. By the time my children and I broke into a frenzied "monkey dance" on a wilderness island in northern Australia the third week of our trip, I knew a psychic convalescence had begun--for all of us.

I privately thought of our journey as a "before they're gone" tour.

The literal meaning was to visit amazing critters and places before humans maimed or destroyed them. The second was to spend time with my children before they left my reconfigured single father's nest. Lastly, the big "before they're gone" loomed especially large: after witnessing my brother's death at forty-eight, I knew viscerally...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Daniel Glick at BookBrowse
Monkey Dancing jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Daniel Glick but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Liv Arnesen

    Liv Arnesen

    Liv (pronounced 'leave') Arnesen's rich life experiences, both on and off the ice, have made her an internationally recognized leader and role model for women and girls. A self-proclaimed "keen" but not ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Monkey Dancing

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Liv Arnesen

  • Ann Bancroft

    Ann Bancroft

    Ann Bancroft is one of the world's preeminent polar explorers and an internationally recognized leader who is dedicated to inspiring women and girls around the world to unleash the power of their dreams. Through her various ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Monkey Dancing

    Try:
    No Horizon Is So Far
    by Ann Bancroft

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...
  • Book Jacket: Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    by Kevin Wilson
    The edge is a shantytown filled with gold seekers. We are fugitives, and the law is skinny with ...
  • Book Jacket: Foster
    Foster
    by Claire Keegan
    Irish author Claire Keegan is experiencing a surge in popularity, thanks to the selection of her ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

The less we know, the longer our explanations.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.