Joe Weber biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Joe Weber
©joewebernovels.com

Joe Weber

Joe Weber Biography

Joe Weber’s military thrillers have appeared on the bestseller lists of the New York Times, Publishers Weekly, the Associated Press, and many others. They have been translated into Chinese, Japanese, Hebrew, Spanish, Polish, Russian, and Italian.

Weber holds a Master of Science Degree in Aviation Management. He is an Airline Transport Rated pilot with over 10,500 hours of flight time in 43 different types of aircraft.

He served in the United States Marine Corps from 1970-1975. A carrier-qualified fighter/attack trained pilot, he graduated first in his class from advanced Naval jet pilot training in Kingsville, Texas, in 1972. After his release from active duty, he flew commercially until 1989 when his first novel was published. A native of Enid, Oklahoma, he lives near Pensacola, Florida, with his wife Jeannie.

From the author's website

Joe Weber's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Joe Weber

Here are the questions most often asked by Joe Weber’s readers. If you have a question that isn’t answered here, e-mail Joe at joeweber@aol.com

How did you get started in your writing career?
After leaving the Marine Corps in 1975, I resumed my career as a commercial pilot. I had always been interested in writing, so I started taking along a yellow legal pad and a few pencils in my flight bag. In 1987, I started my first novel - on a yellow legal pad - with a self-imposed deadline of one year to finish the project. It actually took me one year and two weeks. I was fortunate to find an agent, and Presidio Press published Defcon-One in 1989.

Are the characters in your books people you have actually known?
To some degree they are. Most of my characters are a composite of a number of people I have known. A few of them are totally fictitious.

You have used strong female characters in some of your books. That's surprising for a Marine. Can you explain?
You’re right, I have. In Defcon-One the vice president of the United States is female. In Honorable Enemies, Steve Wickham is teamed with a female FBI agent, and in Primary Target, I have a female captain of an ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joe Weber at BookBrowse
Primary Target jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joe Weber but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tom Clancy

    Tom Clancy

    Thomas Leo "Tom" Clancy, Jr. was an American novelist and historian. He is best known for his technically detailed espionage and military science storylines set during and in the aftermath of the Cold War, and for video ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Primary Target

    Try:
    The Teeth of The Tiger
    by Tom Clancy

  • Nelson DeMille

    Nelson DeMille

    Nelson Richard DeMille was born in New York City on August 23, 1943 to Huron and Antonia (Panzera) DeMille. He moved as a child with his family to Long Island.

    DeMille spent three years at Hofstra University, then joined the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Primary Target

    Try:
    Night Fall
    by Nelson DeMille

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Caught in the Revolution
    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport
    So taken were BookBrowse's First Impression reviewers by the inside look at the start of the Russian...
  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
    The Dark Flood Rises
    by Margaret Drabble
    Margaret Drabble, the award-winning novelist and literary critic who is approaching eighty and ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

In war there are no unwounded soldiers

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -