MLA Gold Award Site

James Patterson biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

James Patterson

James Patterson

James Patterson Biography

After initially being turned down by twenty-six publishers, Patterson's first novel, The Thomas Berryman Number (1976), was published and went on to win the Edgar Award for Best First Mystery Novel. However, it was not until the success of Along Came A Spider (1992) that the former chairman of advertising company J. W. Thompson left to take up writing full time. 

As of 2006 it was estimated that he has sold about 130 million books worldwide.  In North America alone he sold 12 million copies in 2006.  In 2005 he had five consecutive #1 New York Times bestselling hardcovers and is the first author to simultaneously hold the #1 spot on both the New York Times adult and children's bestseller lists.

A prolific author, he has written 18 books in his Alex Cross series (including Cross Country, 2008), eleven books in the Women's Murder Club series (including 7th Heaven, 2008), seven in the Maximum Ride series (including Final Warning, 2008), plus over 20 stand alone novels.  Increasingly he writes with coauthors, most notably Maxine Paetro and Andrew Gross.

He also founded the James Patterson PageTurner Awards and, as of 2007, has personally given away over $600,000 to reward "people, companies, schools, and other institutions who find original and effective ways to spread the excitement of books and reading."

He lives in Palm Beach, Florida with his wife, Susan, and son, Jack.

Link to James's website

This biography was last updated on 07/28/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Conversations with James Patterson about The Beach House, Violets Are Blue and Suzanne's Diary For Nicholas.

A Conversation with James Patterson about The Beach House

The Beach House is your first legal thriller, what lead you to write it? Did you enjoy writing it? Would you write another?
I didn't specifically set out to write a legal thriller, I was just incredibly intrigued by the story in The Beach House . However, most of us are fed up with the injustice that poses for justice in this country. That's at the core of The Beach House. It also seemed like a fun idea to take on John Grisham at his own game. I generally like his stuff and the legal world is incredibly dramatic.

There is a great deal of corruption in The Beach House in the local officials and in the corporate law firm, do you think this is a common occurrence? Do you have any experience with the law?
Other than my hundreds of arrests I really don't have that much experience with the law. While the majority of people aren't corrupt, there certainly is an awful lot of corruption in this country. It's particularly tragic that some of it takes place at law firms, like the one depicted in The Beach House .

There are many ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by James Patterson at BookBrowse
Treasure Hunters jacket Confessions of a Murder Suspect jacket Kill Alex Cross jacket The Postcard Killers jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for James Patterson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 41 similar authors

View all 41 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Loney
    The Loney
    by Andrew Hurley
    Landscape can be a writer's best friend. Whether it's the mountains of England's lake...
  • Book Jacket: The Mirror Thief
    The Mirror Thief
    by Martin Seay
    It is easy to see why Martin Seay's debut novel, The Mirror Thief, has been compared to David ...
  • Book Jacket: The Association of Small Bombs
    The Association of Small Bombs
    by Karan Mahajan
    The Association of Small Bombs is a fictional story that revolves around an actual 1996 car bombing ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
    by Phaedra Patrick

    In a poignant and sparkling debut, a lovable widower embarks on a life-changing adventure.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Win this book!
Win The Children

From NYT bestselling author Ann Leary

The captivating story of an unconventional New England family.

Enter

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I A Greek T M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.