General Chuck Horner biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

General Chuck Horner
af.mil

General Chuck Horner

General Chuck Horner Biography

General Charles A. Horner retired from the United States Air Force while serving as the Commander in Chief of the North American Aerospace Defense Command and the United States Space Command and as the Commander of Air Force Space Command. During his career, he commanded two tactical fighter wings, two air divisions, the Air Defense Weapons Center, and Ninth Air Force. As commander of U.S. Central Command Air Forces during Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm, Horner was in command of all U.S. and allied air assets.

Horner is a command pilot with more than 5,500 flying hours in a variety of fighter aircraft. During the Vietnam conflict he flew 111 combat missions in F-105 fighter and F-105 Wild Weasel aircraft.

General Horner and his wife, Mary Jo, are both Iowa natives and currently reside in Shalimar, Florida, where he serves as a consultant, public speaker, and author. They have three children. He co-wrote Every Man a Tiger with Tom Clancy.



This bio was last updated on 07/10/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by General Chuck Horner at BookBrowse
Every Man A Tiger jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for General Chuck Horner but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Clive Cussler

    Clive Cussler

    Clive Cussler grew up in Alhambra, California. He attended Pasadena City College for two years, then enlisted in the Air Force during the Korean War and served as an aircraft mechanic and flight engineer in the Military Air ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Every Man A Tiger

    Try:
    Fire Ice
    by Clive Cussler

  • Jack Higgins

    Jack Higgins

    Harry Patterson has written thirty novels under the pseudonym Jack Higgins, and is a New York Times bestselling author of over 80 novels, including The Eagle Has Landed (1975) and The Wolf at the Door (2009). His work has ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Every Man A Tiger

    Try:
    Flight of Eagles
    by Jack Higgins

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
    The Dark Flood Rises
    by Margaret Drabble
    Margaret Drabble, the award-winning novelist and literary critic who is approaching eighty and ...
  • Book Jacket: All Our Wrong Todays
    All Our Wrong Todays
    by Elan Mastai
    You need a great deal of time to read All Our Wrong Todays, but don't let that put you off. ...
  • Book Jacket: Dadland
    Dadland
    by Keggie Carew
    In her notable debut, Keggie Carew examines the life of her father Tom, a decorated war hero whose ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Read the best books first...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -