Tom Shachtman biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tom Shachtman
Photo: Mark Connolly

Tom Shachtman

Tom Shachtman Biography

In Tom Shachtman's early adulthood he worked at CBS News for three years, learning the documentary craft on a wonderful series, The 21st Century, and then as Assistant Chief of the TV division of the National Geographic Society. After that he made documentaries for networks, local stations, syndicators, and other outlets, working as writer, and often as writer-producer-director. His best-known work was a trilogy of one-hour films: Children of Poverty, Children of Trouble, and Children of Violence. These won top prizes at San Francisco, New York International, and other festivals. His films have also won a half-dozen New York area Emmys, and been shown at the White House and in Congress.

Shachtman's first book, The Day America Crashed, was published in 1979, and since then he written nearly three dozen others. Currently he is working on a new one, The Science of the Founding Fathers, to be published by Palgrave Macmillan. Research on this book is being partly underwritten by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

His best-known recent book is Rumspringa: To Be or Not To Be Amish.

His book, Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold became the basis for a two-hour documentary special for BBC and PBS, broadcast in 2008. The program and his script for it won the American Institute of Physics' science writing award for 2009. The programs were made possible by a major grant from the National Science Foundation, with additional funding from Sloan.

He has also written books for children, including three novels, Beachmaster, Wavebender, and Driftwhister, (1988-1991) now published in several languages. His non-fiction children's books include The President Builds a House, about the work of Habitat for Humanity (1989), and, with Harriet Shelare, Video Power (1988).

His collaborations with criminologist Robert K. Ressler, the former FBI agent who coined the term "serial killers" and knows more about them than anyone else in the world, include Whoever Fights Monsters and I Have Lived in the Monster, both multi-million copy best-sellers overseas.

In addition to books, he has written articles for The New York Times, Newsday, Smithsonian, and the Hoover Digest, as well as for Huffington Post, History News Network, and the Washington Post's book blog.

He is a lifetime member of the Writers Guild of America, a longtime member of The Authors Guild, and a former president of the board and current trustee of The Writers Room in New York City, an urban writers' colony. He has recently stepped down from trusteeships at two other non-profits, the Connecticut Humanities Council and The Upper Housatonic Valley National Heritage Area.

He holds a B.S. in experimental psychology from Tufts University, an M.F.A. in theater from Carnegie Mellon, and he has taught writing at New York University and at Harvard University Extension. He has lectured on topics based on his books at more than a dozen other colleges and universities around the country.

Tom Shachtman's website

This bio was last updated on 01/12/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tom Shachtman at BookBrowse
Airlift to America jacket Rumspringa jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tom Shachtman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Ayad Akhtar

    Ayad Akhtar

    Ayad Akhtar is a novelist and playwright. His work has been published and performed in over two dozen languages. He is the winner of numerous awards, including the Pulitzer Prize for Drama and an Award in Literature from the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rumspringa

    Try:
    American Dervish
    by Ayad Akhtar

  • Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

    Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

    Howard C. Cutler is an American writer and psychiatrist who practices in Phoenix, Arizona.

    He co-wrote The Art of Happiness with the 14th Dalai Lama. It was on The New York Times Best Seller list for 97 weeks. The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rumspringa

    Try:
    The Art of Happiness
    by Howard C. Cutler, M.D.

We recommend 15 similar authors

View all 15 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Lonely People
    All the Lonely People
    by Mike Gayle
    Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: Perish
    Perish
    by LaToya Watkins
    It's a commonly cited fact that many perpetrators of sexual abuse, particularly men, are victims of ...
  • Book Jacket: Afterlives
    Afterlives
    by Abdulrazak Gurnah
    Afterlives, from Nobel Prize winner Abdulrazak Gurnah, begins in late 19th century East Africa in ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Who Said...

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.