Joanna Potts biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Joanna Potts

Joanna Potts

Joanna Potts Biography

Joanna Potts received a First Class degree in Historical Studies from the University of Bristol, for which she was awarded the George Robertson Travelling scholarship. She received the highest marks in the 2001 graduating class for her dissertation, an oral history of Stalin’s Russia. This thesis was based on extensive and ground breaking original research, and was supported by a prestigious grant from the Economic History Society. While at university Joanna specialised in the study of Soviet Russia, concentrating particularly on the years 1917-1953. She also undertook in-depth research into Europe and the Second World War, completing a comprehensive study of Anthony Eden and Winston Churchill 1939-1945. So far for WARLORDS Joanna has helped to secure the early release of official documents from both the Cabinet Office and MI5. Previously she has worked as series researcher on the major Channel Four series ‘Empire’ presented by Professor Niall Ferguson. She also worked as a researcher on the accompanying book, described by the Economist as “a model of how to do popular history”. Her other recent research credits include ‘Ten days to D-Day’, also for Channel Four, and a biography of Margaret Thatcher for the BBC.



This bio was last updated on 12/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joanna Potts at BookBrowse
Warlords jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joanna Potts but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss has been called "the nation's leading Presidential historian" by Newsweek. He has written eight books on American Presidents and is NBC News Presidential Historian, as well as contributor to PBS's The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    The Conquerors
    by Michael Beschloss

  • Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson has been a journalist for most of his life.

    He wrote for his middle school newspaper and his high school newspaper, and then studied journalism at Boston University, where he worked on The News, a radical ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    K Blows Top
    by Peter Carlson

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free

Discover books that
entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hummingbird Salamander
    Hummingbird Salamander
    by Jeff VanderMeer
    In Hummingbird Salamander, Jeff VanderMeer weaves cybersecurity, bioterrorism, wildlife trafficking ...
  • Book Jacket: The Women of Chateau Lafayette
    The Women of Chateau Lafayette
    by Stephanie Dray
    The Women of Chateau Lafayette, Stephanie Dray's latest work of historical fiction, revolves around ...
  • Book Jacket: Windhall
    Windhall
    by Ava Barry
    Ava Barry's debut mystery novel Windhall is centered around the salacious murder of a starlet named ...
  • Book Jacket: Libertie
    Libertie
    by Kaitlyn Greenidge
    Kaitlyn Greenidge burst onto the literary scene in 2016 with her award-winning novel, We Love You, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Of Women and Salt
    by Gabriela Garcia

    A kaleidoscopic portrait of generations of women from a 19th-century Cuban cigar factory to the present day.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Widow Queen
    by Elzbieta Cherezinska

    The epic story of an 11th century Polish queen whose life and name were all but forgotten until now.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Miss Austen
by Gill Hornby
A witty, poignant novel about Cassandra Austen and her famous sister, Jane.
Win This Book!
Win The Beauty of Your Face

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020

"Stunning.… A timely family saga with faith and forgiveness at its core."
Marie Claire

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's N S O M N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.