Peter Carlson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Peter Carlson

Peter Carlson

Peter Carlson Biography

Peter Carlson has been a journalist for most of his life.

He wrote for his middle school newspaper and his high school newspaper, and then studied journalism at Boston University, where he worked on The News, a radical weekly that got kicked off campus for being too outrageous.

After a post-graduate period of wandering around the western hemisphere, searching for adventure—and sometimes finding it—he worked at the Boston Herald American, People magazine and The Washington Post. He loved the reporter's life—leaving the office and going someplace to meet interesting people and watch them in action, then coming back and turning the experience into a story. He worked at the Post for 22 glorious years, writing feature stories. For 11 years, he also wrote a fortnightly column about magazines.

In 2008, Carlson took an early retirement buyout, pretending his pension was a pseudo-Guggenheim grant to do interesting and creative work. Since then, he has produced two books of history--K Blows Top and Junius and Albert's Adventures in the Confederacy—and a regular column in American History magazine. He plans to do more in the future.

Carlson lives in Rockville, Maryland with his wife, Kathy Oehl, an ICU nurse. They have two beautiful daughters, Caitlin and Emily, and a handsome dog named Albert.

Peter Carlson's website

This bio was last updated on 01/05/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Peter Carlson at BookBrowse
K Blows Top jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Peter Carlson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Simon Berthon

    Simon Berthon

    Simon Berthon, described by the Daily Telegraph as a “formidable Second World War historian”, is one of Britain’s most distinguished writers and producers of television history. His previous book was ALLIES AT... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    K Blows Top

    Try:
    Warlords
    by Simon Berthon

  • Jennet Conant

    Jennet Conant

    Jennet Conant is the bestselling author of four critically acclaimed books about World War II. Conant spent her childhood listening to personal stories from her grandfather, James B. Conant, who was the main administrator of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    K Blows Top

    Try:
    The Irregulars
    by Jennet Conant

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Calypso
    Calypso
    by David Sedaris
    David Sedaris' Calypso is every bit as hilarious and irreverent, as clever and incisive, as ...
  • Book Jacket: The Word Is Murder
    The Word Is Murder
    by Anthony Horowitz
    A wealthy widow enters a London funeral home to make arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours ...
  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.